Baby – I’m Back! Opie’s in His groove!

Hi All,

Opie here! Mama’s been working like mad grading papers so I couldn’t get near the computer. She’s passed out now. She’s graded her 60 papers now, and she’s exhausted. It’s my turn now to get on the computer and catch up to everything. So here are a few things I’d like to jump on!

  1. My Healing Powers!

    In my last blog posting I was nursing Michael back to health. Well, you can imagine the results of MY tender loving care. He’s better. He bopped off to school this morning. His little boy tummy is A-okay. He’s going to refrain from eating bad kibble from now on! So, thanks for all the good wishes blog buddies!


  2. Big Boy is back!

    What you guys didn’t know is that my big boy, Gregory (Michael’s older brother) is back. He went on a field trip with his class to New York and Boston. I missed him a lot. I see no reason for any of my pack mates to leave town — OR the state — ever again! Hu-brothers have to stay home WITH ME! YOU GOT THAT MAMA!!!! Gregory’s glad to see me. He didn’t even mind that I chewed up the full bag of his highlighters that he left under his school pack. Mama found bits of plastic under the dining room table. I was really good at hiding it, but I’ve got to learn how to dump it in the kitchen trash next time. Nobody looks in there once the lid is closed. BOL


  3. What’s upcoming – ADOPT THE INTERNET DAY – March 15!

    I’m already gathering my information about great doggies that need a home and great shelters that need some donations. So get geared up for that. All we pet bloggers should do blogs on that day about doggies that need help and really make a strong effort to bring this issue to as many people as possible. Pledge to Adopt a Pet!  So get ready! Bloggers Start your Computers!!!!!…. whirrrrrr beep!


  4. Human Rescue – Pet blogger style

    “There but for the Grace of God, go I”

    Without our Hu-mamas and Hu- daddy’s where would we be? A lot of humans were hurt and killed by the earthquake and tsunami in Japan. I’m sure a lot of pets were lost too. I feel so sad for everybody over there. We dogs and cats should encourage our Mamas and Daddies to donate something for their relief as well. International rescue crews with rescue dogs are already on their way or in Japan right now. We pets have a fine tradition of helping our humans. Let’s keep that up. I’ve got mama’s credit card right now, and she promised me she’d donate something to the Red Cross. ( Click here to donate to the Red Cross Tsunami Relief) We live in California and tsunamis and earthquakes are a part of our lives too. Oberrieder Dog Park, where I went while my beloved bone yard was closed is in a marked Tsunami Flood zone!

    “There but for the Grace of God, go I” So make your Mama and Daddy pony up some cash for these folks.


    Here are some other  places that you can donate:

    GLOBALGIVING: Established a fund to disburse donations to organizations providing relief and emergency services to victims of the earthquake and tsunami. Donate here.

    SAVE THE CHILDREN: Mobilizing to provide immediate humanitarian relief in the shape of emergency health care and provision of non-food items and shelter. Donate here.

    SALVATION ARMY: The Salvation Army has been in Japan since 1895 and is currently providing emergency assistance to those in need. Donate here.

    AMERICARES: Emergency team is on full alert, mobilizing resources and dispatching an emergency response manager to the region. Donate here.

    CONVOY OF HOPE: Disaster Response team established connection with in-country partners who have been impacted by the damage and are identifying the needs and areas where Convoy of Hope may be of the greatest assistance. Donate here.

    INTERNATIONAL MEDICAL CORPS
    : Putting together relief teams, as well as supplies, and are in contact with partners in Japan and other affected countries to assess needs and coordinate our activities. Donate here.

    SHELTER BOX: The first team is mobilizing to head to Japan and begin the response effort. Donate here.

So, Pet Bloggers – Opie’s back on the computer! Here are some really cute pictures of me that I had Mama down load before she passed out from grading exhaustion! Enjoy!




See you on March 15!!!!


 

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

4 responses to “Baby – I’m Back! Opie’s in His groove!

  • Fiona (and Abby the Hippobottomus)

    Wow! All sorts of things going on! Good work, Nurse Opie! And our Mom sympathizes with your Mom; way back when Mom was in grad school she’d give tests that required essay answers because she wanted her students to ‘think’. And then she’d have 3 classes with 30 people in each class, and come mid-term time, Mom would wonder why she thought essays were such a good idea, and would think that maybe ‘multiple-guess’ tests were better. But she’d always make it through and come finals, she’d be giving out essay questions again. Silly Mom! Good work taking care of everyone!

    *kissey face*
    -Fiona and Abby the Hippobottomus

  • Erin

    What a good blog! Thanks for all of the information about how to help.
    Opie – I LOVE LOVE LOVE your pictures. You are way too adorable! <3

  • Mango

    You are one talented nurse for sure.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  • According to Gus

    Yay! So glad your entire family is healthy and back at home. I bet you did a happy dance when you saw Michael. :D

    Please be extra nice to your mama, Opie. She’s been working her butt off!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

