Just when you think you’re in the clear…. BAM!

Or

Saved by Magical Cheese

Hi All,

I was looking forward to a nice uneventful few final days of the boys’ summer vacation. No more trips! No more Doggy Jail Central! No more haircuts! I should have known it was too good to be true.

I don’t know what the big deal was about really. I had an itch on my belly area and so I licked it. It itched a little more, so I licked it again and maybe a few more times after that.

The next thing I knew, Mama was turning me over on my belly and looking at my tummy OVER her glasses. (She always does that when she really wants to see something) I’m thinking….Come on Ma… give a Pup a little privacy!

She yelled to my Dad, “Opie’s got a rash!”

Now, the whole family was looking at my belly. Looking — not rubbing, looking! I don’t mind exposing my belly as long as I get a good scratch. And my belly was really, really itchy.


(This picture is actually of his rash AFTER he’s had his medication. It looked much angrier than this, but we were all too grossed out to take a photo)

Mama went to the pet store and came back with some “Hot Spot” spray. I hate anything in a spray bottle so I did what comes naturally. I hid under the coffee table. Of course, this was only a moderately effective hiding place. They sprayed me. I’ll admit this stuff relieved my itch for about 2 minutes. They tried to keep me drenched in this stuff most of the day. It was about as effective as my hiding place. I was itchy AND wet all day. Misery!


Of course, I continued to lick and now everyone kept trying to stop me. Michael grabbed my snout and pulled it out from under my hind leg. Dad even got in the act. He scratched my head and behind my ears until I was almost unconscious. Gregory tried teasing me with my favorite snake toy. It looked like it might be a lot of fun, but my itch kept urging me to stop and lick. It started to get really annoying. I discovered that my eye itched too. I started rubbing my face on the carpet and doing my “grass break dancing”. Usually, I do my “grass break dancing” outside on the grass in some odorous patch of earth. This time I needed to wiggle and scratch on the carpet which only smells like that vacuum cleaner monster.

While I was trying to wiggle my way to some relief, Mama was looking at me with a huge frown on her face. The next thing I knew she had her phone out texting. Mom never texts! She put the phone down and in about 2 minutes the phone rang. She read the text, texted something back and yelled, “I’m going to the drug store for some Children’s ‘Benny Drill’ ” I wondered who “Benny Drill” was.

It turns out she texted her sister-in-law who has a little dog who weighs even less than I do and flies all over the country. Mom was asking about the proper dosage for this “Benny Drill.”


(Yes, I know there’s been a recall of this product, but the manufacturer says it was not recalled due to any toxicity issue. Besides, this is a box we’d been using since the beginning of the summer with no ill effects)

A few hours later Mom came into the house with all sorts of stuff. Out of the corner of my eye I saw a whole bunch of cheese sticks.

I didn’t see this “Benny Drill” person. This was good, because I was a little too busy licking to give him a proper barking welcome!

I know what you’re thinking fellow doggers. You’re thinking that this is one of those itchy stories where I talk about how bad my itch was. Well it was bad, but there’s a happy ending. It ends with the most wonderful thing a dog can want (besides your own personal infinite supply of T-bone steaks!)

What could it be? You ask?

Cheese, fellow doggers!

Cheese – Wonderful – Cheese!

The cheesiest loveliest cheese!

And I’m going to take a risk and say it –

MAGIC CHEESE!


Laugh if you want to, but that cheese cured my itch. Mama gave me a really nice big cheese ball. Oh, it was so delicious I started to forget about my itch. In fact, after awhile, I stopped itching at all! I was a little drowsy, but hey it’s my job to nap! I take it very seriously!

Every once and a while the itch would come back, but Mama seemed to know when it would happen. She had a cheese treat all ready for me just as my belly started to heat up again.

Doggers, the cure for my itch was this wonderful MAGIC CHEESE!

My cheese treats and the itch continued from Saturday and all day Sunday. I was actually starting to like my itch! I NEVER get cheese!

However, today, I went to the vet. I don’t know why. The Cheese was doing a heck of a job! While we were there, I could feel my itch starting up again, but I hadn’t had my cheese treat for the day. I sniffed Mama’s purse. It was starting to get really bad. I gave her “The Look”. She just petted me on the head. I was just about to start licking when the vet nurse told us to go back to the examination room.

The lady we saw wasn’t my usual vet, but she was very nice. She had a nice soft voice like mama and she seemed to really love me instantly. We doggers can tell. She was so nice to me that I’m a little embarrassed by that initial growl I gave her. She never stuck me with a needle although she did stick a thermometer up my butt. But she was so fast I hardly noticed. We were in there just little while. She gave Mama a lot of bottles and then we went home. I was hoping the doctor might have some cheese for me, but they only had little bone treats. Tasty, but they did NOTHING for my itch. I would have licked myself all the way home, but Mama distracted me with the window. I stuck my head out the window and almost forgot about my itch.

I was a really good boy at the vet. I didn’t bark at anyone, or pee on the floor or growl….much.

So guess what fellow doggers? When I got home, I got TWO cheese balls. Oh and they were just as delicious at the other cheese balls. I didn’t feel very drowsy, but my itch was a lot less than it was before. I didn’t feel like licking not licking. In fact I feel pretty good.

Well hopefully the itch won’t be coming back anytime soon. But I saw Mom in the kitchen cutting up cheese sticks. I think I’m going to be in CHEESE HEAVEN fellow doggers!

****

Note from Opie’s Mom.

The Vet okayed a low dose of Benadryl to stop the itch until we could come in to the office. What she didn’t tell us, but we already know is that Childrens Benadryl has been recalled, but it was a voluntary recall. Johnson and Johnson says that the medicine is still safe. We also know that too much Benadryl can stop a dog’s heart. I decided to err on the side of caution gave Opie ¼ of a tablet. He only weighs 16 pounds. It seemed to work well, but we didn’t want to keep doing this. The Benadryl has been stopped, and he’s now on his prescription medication.

Opie has Pyoderma, which is really a general fancy term for a skin infection caused by flea bites, an allergy or other underlying cause. We don’t have any idea yet what has caused what must be an allergic reaction. Opie doesn’t have any fleas. He’s been on Revolution, and it works very well for him. Both the vet and I combed his fur looking for the evil little monsters. The Vet suspects that something harmful is blooming in my yard. That’s possible. However, I suspect the wet version of his dog food that we started him on a few weeks ago, or maybe he’s allergic to greenies. We’re stopping the wet food. I looked up Pyoderma on the internet and it WILL recur if we don’t find out what’s giving him the reaction. Opie will just have to make do with boiled chicken breast mixed with his kibble. Poor little hound dog.

In the mean time just for fun… here’s Opie’s “Cheese Schedule” We’ve posted it so that his feather brained parents can keep track of his medication.

He’s had his first doses as you can see. He’s already feeling better and he hasn’t licked his belly once since we gave him his “Magic Cheese” If those reading have any ideas about what might be the culprit, feel free to post your ideas. We’re feeling optimistic that we can make Opie a lot more comfortable, but we’d like to know what’s causing the problem in the first place. It might be plant life. There were three dogs and their mamas in the waiting room at the vet – all with mysterious belly rashes. We all got the same medicine — Antibiotic for the infection and Prednisone for the itch, and we all live in the same area. Opie also managed to give himself a little pink eye type thing, so he’s got antibiotic drops for a gooey left eye.

 

Opie’s “Magic Cheese” Schedule



About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

10 responses to “Just when you think you’re in the clear…. BAM!

  • 24 Paws of Love

    So sorry to hear about the itchies. :( But I love the “Magic Cheese” idea. Hope you are feeling better real soon.

  • yuki and rocket

    this ‘magic cheese’ sounds really tasty! maybe my mom can give me some. mom takes rocket to the vet on monday and she’s gonna find out about his flaky,itchy,red skin. hopefully there will be an easy remedy. she might have to end up giving him some of these ‘magic cheese balls’. happy wednesday!

    • Opie and Opie's Mom

      Yuki, sounds like you have what I had. I was a little flakey, but I licked most of the flaky stuff off. Mama was really grossed out. Her nose was all wrinkled up while she looked at me. Usually she only does that if I have “custard”poopies. So far I’m doing pretty well. I was up most of the night though — not my itchies. There was something in the yard! Mama let me out at 1:30 in the morning and just waited on me to finish my security rounds. She looks a little sleepy now. I’ve got tons of energy!

  • Opie and Opie's Mom

    I love my cheese. I may have to fake some itches later. Mama says the cheese is only going to last a few days. I’ll have to think of a way to get more! :)

  • Fiona and Abby the Hippobottomus

    Ooooh. Itchies are no good! I got itchies this spring when I was ‘allergic’ to something – I started scratching at 11pm, and was off the bed and scratching every 5 minutes until Mom took me to the v-e-t at 8am the next morning (silly woman didn’t even think about Benny Drill at the time). It resulted in Magic Peanut Butter for a week until I was all better. I’m glad you’re getting Magic Cheese! Feel better, little dude!

    *kissey face*
    -Fiona and Abby the Hippobottomus

  • Opie and Opie's Mom

    Mama might try some Magic Peanut butter too. That sounds yummy! Itchies are no fun! Except when we get magic stuff. :)

  • sagechronicles

    Magic cheese!! Where do I get some? It sounds almost as good as that magic tripe Mom gives Toby….

  • Hanna at Dog Products

    Hi Opie,

    We get itchy too but our mom is vegan and doesn’t have ‘magic cheese’ lying around the house.

    Instead, she used to give us peanut butter but then she figured that we’re pretending to be itchy just so we can have more of it. Now she gives us bite size bananas which we sort of like but not enough to fake for.

    Udi and Yumbo
    The Shih Tzu Brothers

    p.s. Our mom’s name is Hanna. Isn’t that pretty?

  • Snoopy@snoopysdogblog.com

    Hey Opie,

    I want a cheese schedule, maybe I can download it and put it on the fridge and Mum will give it to me too? No, I don’t have an itch, but surely that’s only a minor detail, right?! Hope you’re better soon buddy! :)

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  • bichonpawz

    We know about the itchies and they are not fun at all. Now…the MAGIC Cheese! THAT is a good thing!!! A REALLY good thing. Here’s hoping that you are feeling better by now. It’s awful to be itchin’ and not know why!! xoxo Chloe and LadyBug

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

