I’m Legal!

It’s official! Opie is legal. We got our dog license in the mail today!  Yippee!  Now he can really jingle when he walks.

Opie has a total of three tags on his collar.

1. Our tag which has his name and our contact information on it.

2. His Lhasa Happy Home Rescue tag  which has their contact information on it.

3. His dog license.

A lot of people don’t license their dogs.  They probably think it’s one more tax from “The Man.” Well, it is! But it’s a good tax. The money from dog licensing pays for dog shelters and animal control.  Consider the fact that if everyone licensed their dogs, there might be enough money to  fully staff and fund existing facilities and build new ones. We could have more “No Kill” shelters.  We could have dogs and cats spayed and neutered all over the place. We could get control this sad overpopulation. We could give teeth to the animal control people so that they could really go after these people who abuse animals. Maybe we couldn’t do all that, but we certainly could make a dent in the problem.

It’s really easy to do, and it’s cheap!

How easy?

Well, if your town is hooked up with www.Petdata.com, it’s a snap.  Just choose your city from the drop down menu on the site and fill out the form. Voila, you’re done. You can scan your vaccination data in or mail it. I just scanned Opie’s vaccination records and spay neuter certification. I paid for his license with my credit card. Maybe I helped pay for some portion of the dog food at a local shelter.

Did I mention that it’s cheap?  Of course, every place is different, but $25 a year is really not that bad.  Consider how much you spend on Starbucks, the odd pair of earrings or a Slurpee during the year, and it’s really not that bad.   It seems to me that we make an investment in rescuing a dog. This is the smallest expense I have. and it’s good for Opie if he manages to escape the backyard one day and good for all the other little Opies, Tobies, Bogies and Sages out there who need some good Mommies and Daddies.

How important is this? Let’s say that I didn’t license Opie. Let’s say that he escaped somehow. Without a tag, Los Angeles County Animal Control would pick him up. If they pick him up in our area with no tag, they take him to a shelter that euthanizes dogs.  They may or may not call us. They may or may not notice check his microchip. He’s would be in real danger.  Our local city has a new deal with the county. All dogs with our city license tags go to a no kill shelter. I’ve just improved Opie’s chances of survival if the unthinkable happens.

You know what else is cool? Next year this time, all I have to do is “point and click” to renew his license. I’ll whip out the old credit card and… he’s covered.

So, three cheers for licensing! Hip, Hip, Hooray!  Hip, Hip Hooray! Hip, Hip, Hooray!

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

2 responses to “I’m Legal!

Leave a Reply

