Adopt a Special Needs Pet and get Extra Special Love!

 

Attention Southern Californians in the L.A. or South Bay area!

I recieved a great email from my friend Deborah Weinrach of the Culver City Friends of Animals Society!  I want to share it with all of you. Maybe  you have room in your home for an extra special dog that can give you extra special love.

** EBONY **
  
“Special Needs” Sweety
  
Harbor Shelter – A1144871
  
  
Hasn’t A Clue She’s Different From Other Dogs!
  
EBONY – 3 yo female Spaniel Mix – URGENT!!!!
ID# A1144871
Intake Date: August 22, 2010
  
EBONY is a 3 yr old female Spaniel Mix who came to Harbor Shelter as a stray on August 22.  Sweet Ebony is SPECIAL NEEDS – she has a congenital deformity resulting in her hindlimbs being contracted into a flexed position.  Ebony doesn’t seem to be aware that there is ANYTHING wrong with her!  She gets around just great & is very functional – sometimes hopping on one hindlimb, and other times using both hindlimbs.  Ebony is exceptionally sweet, loving, affectionate, and a very happy girl….. she enjoys both human time and playtime w/ her kennel mates.  She loves “lap time”, too.  This very special little girl does not have a clue she is a bit “different” from other dogs….. making her all the more special!!! 
  
Check out Ebony in action:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9eZwJuXfcw
  
If you can help Ebony
  
please contact Harbor Shelter ASAP!!! 
 
    

A special note from Opie:

I never forget that I was a rescued dog.  Please note the intake date.  I don’t know what Ebony’s  execution date is or if she has one yet. Mine was about 30 days from the date of my intake. Lhasa Happy Home Rescue grabbed me  3 weeks before my date.  I was adopted by my mom, and I am so happy and so loved.

You can make Ebony happy too. We doggies have a lot of love to give. We don’t talk back ( much).  We don’t judge at all. We listen to your troubles. We lick you when you need it and we cuddle you. We make you laugh and smile. We bring joy to your lives. We don’t ask for much. Food, a good place to sleep, a chewy toy and walkies so we don’t make a mess.  Sombody please help Ebony. She looks nice!

Take Care,

Opie 

Harbor Animal Care Center, San Pedro, CA 
Direct Line (310) 548-2632                     
Kennel Supervisior, Leslie Corea,
 
city cell (213) 305-8323 leslie.corea@lacity.org
 
About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

5 responses to “Adopt a Special Needs Pet and get Extra Special Love!

  • sagechronicles

    Hi, Opie. I wonder if it’s just me, but none of the pictures are showing up? I can’t wait to see Ebony and I hope she finds her furever home soon.

  • lillij

    They show up when I view the site, but I put them in a strange way. I’ll check and see ! She’s a beautiful dog. I am almost tempted, but Opies Dad has put a strict 1 dog limit on our household. I think we could handle at least two and Opie would have a friend.

  • lillij

    Pictures are fixed now for all who want to view. I stupidly cut and pasted the email into the blog. The pix turned into bitmaps which are not visible to readers, but are perfectly visible to me not only in the editing phase, but also in the preview. Is that weird? I went back to the email and downloaded all the pics as jpgs and then uploaded them to wordpress. That seemed to do the trick.
    Weird thing though. That pink heart in the first photo is not visible in my jpg. I wonder why that is.Hm mm.

    I appreciate your patience.
    Take Care,

    Opie’s Mom

  • sagechronicles

    OMD, She is BEAUTIFUL!

  • Chewy

    awww what a beatiful dog. I hope she gets adopted soon!

    Chewy

Leave a Reply

