I CAN TOO CLIMB!

Squirrel eating

Squirrel eating a nut. This isn't my squirrel, but it might as well be. Dirty Rotten Squirrel!

Hi Guys,

Opie here!

The squirrels were at it again. They were chattering at me, taunting me from their perches on the skinny branches.  I had had enough!

Rotten  &%$@#  Squirrels!

Mom took me for my walk in the afternoon. I could tell she was tired and it was going to be a short one because it was hot outside.  She put my big leash on, the one that let’s me go way far out in front of her until she hits the  “STOP” button.  We came out to the front yard and as usual I went to the pine tree in front of the garage. There’s a squirrel that loves to sit in the tree, eat the pine nuts and throw the cones down on my head. ( &$#*$&(!)  

Mom sat down on the neighbors wall and let me do my usual thing — scoping out the squirrel scent and letting them know that I’ve got my eyes on them.  She started talking to the lady across the street and that’s when I tried it. 

I climbed the tree!

Scoping out my climbing options

Here I am scoping out my climbing options

The leash was loose so mom didn’t notice  what I was doing for a while. She was busy talking to the lady.  The pine tree is really crooked along the bottom. The first foot of it is bent like a knee.  I can stand up on my hind legs and rest my paws easily on it.  I pushed off with my back legs and PRESTO!  I was able to jump up onto that bend.  I was up OFF THE GROUND!  I was standing up on the bend in the branch. I was trying to get to the next big

I spot my prey -- SQUIRREL!
I spot my prey — SQUIRREL

bend. I figured I could jump and use my claws and get to the next little twisty part. It would be hard but I was confident.  The squirrel had been chattering at me, but I could see him looking down at me with his beady little eyes. Soon he would be mine. I couldn’t wait to sink my teeth into his grey and red squirrely fur. Oh Joy! I was just about to make the jump and … 

Just about to make my move
I am just about to make my move.

 

“OPIE!!!! Get down from there!”

Mom was standing by the tree. She had a really strange expression on her face. I was about 2 and 1/2 feet of the ground up a tree!  The leash was tangled in these little starter branches on the knee branch that I was standing on. 

Mom was grumbling at me pretty good as she unwound the leash and pulled me out of the tree.  She grumbled pretty much during the whole walk.  I did n’t know humans could growl. 

I didn’t mind.  Now, I know I can climb a tree!  Those squirrels are in for a  BIG SURPRISE! 

 

“Oh I love them Squirrelies!
Squirrelies what I love to eat!
Bite they little heads off! Nibble on they tiny feet!
Dah, dah, dah, dad, dum, dee, dee, dee , tee, dum!”

 

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

3 responses to “I CAN TOO CLIMB!

Leave a Reply

