Mom’s Dirty Trick!

Yes, I'm beautiful, but I hate going to the groomers. I don't know if I forgive you.

Opie here!

I just had to tell you about the dirty trick mom played on me yesterday! 

It was morning! I had been sent outside to patrol the backyard for squirrels. I scared two of them out of the tree and onto the roof!  It was a good day!  I did some of my business in the backyard and got lots of praise.  Mom was getting the boys ready for school.  I can’t go with them until I”ve done #1.  I can hold #2 pretty well until my walk or a trip to the dog park.

But I call FOUL!  I was a little slow coming to the door when Mom called me, and suddenly they were gone without me!  I didn’t get to ride in the car to school.  ( To be fair she called me a few times and came out and tried to catch me but the squirrels were talking trash to me!)

Then to add insult to injury — mom came running home, changed clothes and ran back out again. She said something about 3rd grade parent coffee, patted my head and ran out.

Where’s my WALK!!!! I can’t hold this stuff all day!  And.. there are squirrels growing complacent on the boulevards. They need to be “SCHOOLED” on who’s boss!

An hour later, mom breezed in.

I was very glad to see her. She seemed glad to see me too. She fed me and gave me water. She urged me to eat my kibble. She fed me from her hand. I love that! I always lick her  a little extra. She tasted like strawberry jam. Yum!

Then she got my leash! ( Good, because I was starting to sweat!)

YIPPEE!

We set out… a different way. That was okay by me. New squirrels’ scent, new crows.  But there were lots of people and cars on this walk. We crossed the street a few times.  I had to sit at the curb every time. 

Then I started to smell something familiar.

It smelled like…. SHAMPOO!

Oh My Dog!!!!  We’ve walked all the way to the DOG GROOMER!!!!

AIYEEEEEEEE!

What a dirty trick, Mom!  

Now, I’m clean!

GRRRRRRRRRR! I liked my mud, my burrs, my special Odor de Pooch. I thought Mom liked the new grey tinge to my white fur from jaunt at the Oberrieder Dog Park.  Okay, so I left a foot print or two on the BLACK couch…it’ll wash.

I just had to share that.  I may never look at my leash the same way again.

Nah! Who am I kidding! 

 I LOVE WALKS…

Even to the dog groomers.

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

Leave a Reply

