Opies Second Day of Crate Training

Day 2

We continued treating and praising him every time he went inside the crate.   I took him for his walk.  When we returned, his breakfast was waiting for him inside the crate. He ate about 3/4 of his food. ( Probably, full of treats from the day before!) 

 He sat down for a quick nap in his crate. He was in and out of it all morning and playing with his bully stick .  He really seems to like it. Still,  it might be the treats he earns when he goes in and when we give the command, “Go to crate!”. I’ve already used up the bag of treats I bought back in August. Time to buy more!

Late morning, he figured out that the crate was the ideal hiding place for his bully stick.    In the late afternoon, we decided to go to the movies. ( We saw Megamind with Will Ferrell and Tina Fey — Ben Stiller is one of the producers — ‘nuf said!)

Of course, it was still too early in his training to close him up the crate for the 2 and 1/2 hours we’d be gone.  We let him outdoors for about 1/2 h our before we left and peppered the crate with treats while he was outside.    We did our normal “Opie-fying “of the house and dropped his bully stick along wtih Hedgie inside his crate. We let him back inside and the boys headed out to the car.

Opie did a funny thing. As I was turning on the house security, he went inside his crate and sat down as if waiting on me to close the door. When I didn’t, he came out and sat in front of the couch in his usual spot.  I locked the door and said bye-bye.

Once again, I think Opie may have been crate trained before. He came to us completely potty trained. Maybe his previous owners crate trained him too!

When we returned from the movie,  there was no damage anywhere. The table was clean, the pillows were still on the couch. He did his normal happy dance routine. I didn’t even see paw prints on the coffee table. He’d eaten about 1/2 of the food in his bowl and ALL of the treats were gone.

So far we are in the easy stages of the training. Opie is free to come and go and we’re continueing to make the crate a wonderful place for him to rest and play. I can’t help but think that he’s already on to us. His belly is full of treats and the door is still open.

.

In the meantime, here are some photos we took of him on Day 2 enjoying his little den.

 We pushed the “door closing” stage until Monday.  I’ll tell you how that goes in a few days!

In the meantime, if anyone has any suggestions or comments  please feel free to comment.  So far so good, but we know the real work has not begun yet.

Later,

Opie’s Mom

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

2 responses to “Opies Second Day of Crate Training

  • sagechronicles

    Opie! You are doing great!! I’m really glad you like your crate. I go in mine whenever my Mom & Dad go somewhere (I haven’t figured that one out yet), but it’s OK. I get a good nap and am rarin’ to go when they get home.

    Sometimes I have to go in my crate for “time out”. I know what that means…….

  • Rocky Rue

    He is so cute

Leave a Reply

