Riding in cars with the boys – YAHOO!

Hi All,

Opie here!

I just have to say how much I love riding in the car! I rode to school yesterday and today with the boys. I’ve always liked it, but it’s gotten even better since I chewed up my seatbelt harness. Mom put me in it yesterday. It’s too big, and I put a big hole in it. By the time, we got to school I was out of it. Mom didn’t notice since I’m in the back seat behind her chair, but Michael did. He rides with me in the back seat. He told Gregory who was in the front seat. They wrapped my leash all around Mom’s armrest so that I couldn’t hop out when they opened the door for school. Good thing, too. ‘Cause that’s exactly what I would have done! That place looks interesting and I wanted to go with my boys!

I was sad to see the boys go into that building and I whined a little. But Mama fixed me right up. She undid my leash a bit more and let me ride “shotgun.” She even let the window down a little bit so that I could stick my nose out. It was heavenly! So many smells! I smelled all these restaurants, people and I even smelled my dog park as we went by. It didn’t smell quite right – smelled kind of chemically and full of strangers. Mama growled as we drove by. She got some bad news about the park. They were supposed to finish up this month, but it looks like they won’t finish fixing it until January. I would have growled too, but we went by so fast and there were so many great smells.

This morning Mama didn’t even bother with the harness. She tied my leash on her armrest and made me sit on the floor between her and Gregory. I liked that. The floor is carpeted and not slippery. Gregory stroked my head all the way to school. That was great! Even better, somebody has been dropping French fries and crumbs down there on the floor. I had a little snack on the ride. I was travelling in style!

Once the boys got out, guess what!

You guessed it! I got to ride shotgun again.

I love riding in the car with the boys! The boys NEVER take me to the groomers or the vet. I can be sure that it’s going to be a “joy ride” when all of us get in the car!

Well, gotta go! It’s almost time for mama and me to pick up our boys! I may get to go in the car again! Yippee!

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

2 responses to “Riding in cars with the boys – YAHOO!

  • sagechronicles

    Hi, Opie! I like your new theme!! It’s neat.

    I like riding in the car too–it usually means the dog park for us! I wish your dog park was fixed–too bad you couldn’t come visit ours!! We’d have fun.

  • According to Gus

    Opie, we’re so glad you like to ride in the car. Gus is always so anxious, mainly because he knows we’re headed to the park and he can’t contain his excitement!

Leave a Reply

