Opie’s 2011 New Year’s Resolutions



 

Hi all

 

Opie here!

 

Mama’s been scribbling in her journal furiously for the past half hour. She’s says she’s working on her 2011 New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t think she’s having a good time. She’s looking kind of mournfully at the chocolate chip cookies she made for my human brothers – Michael and Gregory. I think she’s thinking that she won’t be eating any more of those. She says I ought to make some resolutions too.

 

I guess misery loves company. I don’t know if I want to do this at all. But I guess it’s like wearing holiday sweaters. A dog’s gotta do what a dog’s gotta do. By the way, please help me talk mom out of buying me an everyday sweater. It’s been hitting 45 degrees here, and she’s afraid that I get too cold on my walks. Gee mom for cryin’ out loud I’m wearing a fur coat!

 

Any way back to the resolution thing — Mama says it’s just a promise to yourself for the next year to make your life and the lives of others better. She says I don’t have to make a lot of them and they should be things that I want and need to do and that will make my life better or the lives of others better. I would whine, but Mama’s got that look in her eye.

 

So here’s what I came up with.

 

 

My 2011 New Years Resolutions

1

I resolve in 2011 to tug on the leash only once at the beginning of the walk and try and walk without

tugging on the leash for the rest of the walk.

 

2

I resolve to find a way to get Mama to take me to the dog park (ANY DOG PARK!) at least twice a week.

 

3

I resolve to avoid rolling in cat or other animal poo in the backyard to avoid extra baths.

 

4

 

I resolve to devote at least one blog per week to helping my animal friends get adopted.

 

5

I resolve to chew on my dog toys more and Mama’s furniture less. (Mama suggested that one.)

 

So what do you think? Do you think I can do any of these? Mama says that I should try and get them done as quickly as possible if possible. She says the longer I wait the harder it gets to do.

 

Do any of you guys know what PROCRASTINATE means? I think this word must be kind of important in Mama’s resolutions.

Anyway!

 

Happy New Year Everybody!

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

2 responses to “Opie’s 2011 New Year’s Resolutions

  • Hawk aka BrownDog

    Hi Opie!

    Wow! Great resolutions!

    My Momma doesn’t make me make any ’cause she says in all her years she doesn’t know anyone who ever kept them. So I’m answering questions for New Years!

    Hawk aka BrownDot

  • Joan DeMartin

    Oh do we know what “procrastinate” means! Parental Unit is the queen!

    We think those are great resolutions for 2011, Opie. We’ll try and adopt those as ours, too.
    Happy New year to you and your Mom!

Leave a Reply

