In the Spotlight: Lhasa Happy Homes Rescues

Hi guys, I’ve been a little quiet on the blogging front. I would say I’ve been busy, but I haven’t. I’ve been snoozing on the couch, chasing squirrels and playing with my new toys. Yes, I got Christmas presents, and I even got dressed up for Valentine’s Day! It’s my mom who’s been super busy. I won’t go into all the boring pointless stuff she’s been involved with. Let’s get back to what’s important… ME and what I want to say!

Yes, this is me dressed with a red heart ribbon. I was good in it for about 2 minutes and then I had a good time playing tug of war with it. Dress up can be fun!

However, that’s not what I’m going to talk about today. Today I want to shine the spotlight on my favorite pet rescue organization. Lhasa Happy Homes!
I came from there and I can’t help but feel really grateful to them for rescuing me. So I’d like to encourage all my blogger pals to support their local pet rescues in whatever way they can.

 

I owe this great organization MY LIFE!!!!

Lhasa Happy Homes rescues Lhasa Apsos mostly, but they aren’t really limited to that. After all, I’m a Snorkie. They rescue dogs that are about my size and smaller and maybe a bit larger. They have Lhasa Apsos, Shih Zus and other small breeds, like Maltese and Pomeranians. Anyway, they are a really great organization located in Los Angeles. They have people who act as foster moms and dads – Shout out to Barbara my old Foster Mama. They are always looking for people to act as foster moms and dads until their pups can find furrever homes. So if you are in the L.A. area, you should contact them to volunteer to be a foster parent.

I stayed with my Foster Mama, Barbara when I first came to LHH. I was happy there. She and her two kids were very nice to me. I’ll always be grateful to them. To understand how people get doggies from LHHs let me explain how Mama got me.

First, Mama and Daddy and the boys talked about getting a dog. The boys always wanted someone like me, but Mama and Daddy knew it would be a big responsibility and they wanted to be sure that the boys would hold up their end. Then because Mama is a big old softy – Daddy said that Mama had to look online first for a dog just the right size and temperament for our family. He was afraid that if we just showed up at the pound, Mama would fall in love with a dog that was too big, too small or too something for our family and then they’d be in trouble. I think that was the right thing to do. Clearly, I’m perfect! I’m the right size, temperament, and I also don’t make Mama sneeze. This is me with a buddy at the dog park last summer. I have my summer hairdo! It makes me look fast which of course I am! Super fast!

Mama looked on www.petfinder.com and put in her search conditions and 3 or 4 dogs popped up. For whatever reason, I was the first dog that she got to see in person. (You might say that Dad was right, that she was bound to fall in love with me. However, I prefer to believe that it’s because I was perfect for us!) The went to see me between times when Randee might have taken me to one of the adoption fair thingies she does at local pet supply stores – neither Mama or the boys could wait for the weekend. So Mama and Daddy and the boys went to Randee’s house to meet me.


Mama had to sign a really long contract and adoption application with Randee. Mama didn’t mind because she says it made her and Daddy really think about all that having a doggy entails. Sadly, lots of people don’t realize what a great responsibility it is to have a doggy. It’s the same as adopting a human child. You don’t’ give children back so you shouldn’t give doggies back either, right? Unfortunately, people abandon doggies all the time. I know that’s true. My old owners gave me up. I forgive them because my Mama and Daddy are way better. Mama says I shouldn’t judge, but well. Come on! Have you see me as a puppy? I was completely adorable. Obviously, there was something wrong with them. I’m perfect!

The contract has a clause in it as well that says essentially if the adopters don’t take very good care of me that LHHs can “redeem” me. Of course, that would never happen to me. My family takes excellent care of me (I go to the vet all the time for shots and checkups and once when Mama thought I was licking my nose too much!) As part of the contract I still wear an LHH tag around my collar. I wear my Mama’s tag too and I’m micro chipped with her information. Mama likes to say that I’m “lo-jacked” whatever that means. Bottom line – I’ve got lots of folks looking out for me.

I go to the groomer once a month, I get brushed, I get greenies so that my teeth stay sparkling and sharp and I get walks and lots of time to play and sleep. Mama even cooks me brown rice to make my kibble taste better. LHH interviewed my mama and even before I could see them they sent out a volunteer to do home inspection to make sure that Mama’s house and yard were safe for me. Needless to say, my family passed muster!

it’s a good idea to use rescues like Lhasa because they go to the shelters all the time to rescue dogs on death row and they get us our shots, take us to the vet and even make certain how socialized we are.

They have weekly events to so that you can come and see the doggies too! Here’s an event that’s going on this week. You should visit the website to see where the next one will be if you miss this one.

 


You can see adoptable doggies their best light. I have to say, I like LHH most because they go the extra mile to make certain that dogs are placed in homes where they will be loved forever and taken care of responsibly. They do their best to be sure that the rescued doggies don’t have to be rescued again!

You can get any sort of doggy you want from a rescue. There are all kinds of special breed rescues all over the country. I know some of my blog buddies came from rescues like that.

Mama says to be careful though. Some of them are breeders masquerading as rescues. She says that real rescues are registered as nonprofit organizations, like Lhasa.

Rescues also facilitate vet bills for Special Needs dogs. A city or county shelter might just murder, kill, euthanize, put to sleep a dog that has lots of medical problems, but a rescue will look at the doggy more carefully. If you go to the Lhasa Happy Homes site you’ll see that they take care of lots of dogs that have medical problems.

Some doggies had totally curable problems but for whatever reason the shelter wasn’t going to help as much as the rescue could and would. The best thing about Lhasa and probably other rescue organizations is that you can help those doggies and you don’t even have to live in Los Angeles to do so. You can donate over the internet. Just go to the website and read all about the poor sick doggies that need help with their vet bills. These doggies have some special needs and vet bills.

So please DONATE some $$$$!

If you are in the LA area and you’d like a little cute dog like me, then you should call Randee. Here is a screen shot of some of the pups that are available right now! You can also do a search on www.Petfinder.com and get more information on the doggies. This is just a few of the doggies. They have lots of sweet doggies. (It makes me kind of sad to know these doggies don’t have forever families like I do. L)

Aren’t they cute?!! Almost as cute as me!!!!

For more information about this great doggies please go directly to www.lhasahapphomes.org


So spread the word to your friends in the Los Angeles Area that Lhasa Happy Homes has fabulous dogs that need forever homes.

You can donate money for the poor sick doggies at the website even if you don’t live in L.A., California or even the United States!

By the way, Mama says that most of you guys reading my blog are probably already pretty committed to helping the doggies.

She suggested that I ask you to tweet or “share” this article all over the place so more people can see it. She says you already know what’s important so this is like “preaching to the converted” (whatever that means). So, please hit the share button or just tell somebody to use a rescue instead of a breeder.

It’s not politically correct – it’s the absolute right thing to do.

 

 

Your pal,

Opie


About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

4 responses to “In the Spotlight: Lhasa Happy Homes Rescues

  • sagechronicles

    You are such a good, caring dog Opie! I also like to help our furry friends, especially since I came from one of those shelter places….

  • According to Gus

    Awww…my heart melted seeing all those photos. I hope they are all adopted soon! We will tweet to help spread the word!

  • randee

    Opie…you are a very special boy and your mom is very special too…so you guys were a perfect match! I’m so happy to read your blog because it’s so meaningful and heart felt…and it’s so good to know how happy you are…that means the world to us. Tell your mommy Josette for us that we love her and appreciate her teaching you how to type

    xoxoxoxo….Auntie Randee

  • Opie and Opie's Mom

    Well thank you Auntie Randee. She didn’t have to do much. I am such a smart pup. The real trick was was managing my nails. They kept getting caught in the keys. But as you know, I’m a quick study. I love writing about my furry friends. I just want everyone to be as lucky as I am. Thank you Auntie Randee for all that you do!

Leave a Reply

