Snorkie Report – Dog breed with a bad rep!

Bark No to Canine Profiling!

 

Hi there!
Opie Here!

You know some people just look at me and think I’m some sort of lap dog! That’s just not fair. They look at my Yorkie cousins the same way sometimes. But that’s not fair. We are descended from proud breeds that were bred to help man. Dogs of all sizes and types have been man and woman’s best friend for thousands of years. And if I like to sit in someone’s lap from time to time, what’s it to you? Stop with the labels people!

I was surfing the net with Mama and came across this great video. It’s below and Mama is going to put it on my Favorite Videos Page, too.

Pit bulls have a bad reputation, but let’s really look at it. Isn’t it really bad mamas and daddies that cause the problem? If Mama and Daddy hadn’t taken some extra time to socialize get me used to Daddy, I might have a bad reputation. When I first came to my house, I used to bark and nip at Daddy and bark at everyone on the sidewalk. Mama had to cross the street because I was a little obnoxious. I even barked at two pitties on a walk once. I feel really bad about that. They weren’t going to bark at me. I’m the one that started the barking.

“Neighborhood Pitties — if you read my blog and even if you don’t, I apologize for that incident on Overland Blvd. I know better now. Next time, I’ll let you smell my butt. ”

I hardly bark at anyone anymore (just squirrels and the mail carrier). I get along with all the Daddies that walk my friends in the neighborhood.

Maybe the naughty doggies don’t have mamas and daddies who do what’s necessary to help their doggies be good doggies. We doggies need love, but just like my human brothers, you can’t let us get away with everything. (Well, you could let us have that pumpkin pie on the kitchen counter or that steak on the dining room table.) We also need exercise and stimulation. Maybe the naughty doggies are tied up, never walked, never taken to a dog park or trained to do bad things. I think some people may drive some poor doggies nuts when they don’t treat them well. Mama is always watching to make sure I don’t get too bored. She hates Oberrieder dog park, but she takes me anyway. (Mama: It’s too small Opie – I don’t’ hate it, but it hardly seems worth the drive!)

It all boils down to what I said a few blogs ago. People need to get the dogs that fit them, and that they can be responsible for. I’m big enough and active enough for my family.

I feel really sorry for Pit bulls. I don’t think they deserve their bad reputation. Anyway, enjoy the video. It really says it all anyway. Canine Profiling is Wrong!

Look at this face! He’s ALMOST as cute as me.

 


 

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

13 responses to “Snorkie Report – Dog breed with a bad rep!

  • Winnie

    I hate it when people think certain breeds are ALL aggressive and dangerous.

    Any dog that’s not treated right or not given enough time and attention to learn right from wrong can cause problems for other dogs, pets and people.

    Love and licks Winnie

  • Two Pitties in the City

    It is sad how many people use the pitbulls’ natural tendency to please their people to get them to do bad things. We use our dogs as role models to show people what pitbulls are really like. We also think it’s crazy that people don’t understand dogs need to learn rules and they don’t just come trained and need to learn rules.

  • Elizabeth

    Very good words of wisdom Opie!!

  • sagechronicles

    You are so smart, Opie! It’s really important to let people know that not ALL dogs in a breed are mean and aggressive. They aren’t! You did a good job of explaining that too!!
    Your buddy,
    Sage

  • Fiona (and Abby the Hippobottomus)

    We completely agree – canine profiling is WRONG! Actually we agree with everything you’ve said. You are wise, little one! 😉

    *kissey face*
    -Fiona and Abby the Hippobottomus

  • Lindy MacDuff

    Hi Opie and Opie’s mama! Thanks for hopping over to our blog today to read about Sophie.

    Opie, I think you’ve hit the nail on the head – people need to get dogs that fit them and they can be responsible for. Great video, too. Those pitties are definitely loved. =)

  • Santa, Minnie and Christmas

    Hi Opie, nice to meet you. Thanks for coming by our blog and found us hosting Flat George. We are having so much fun with him.

    – Christmas and the girls

  • Stellaluna

    Thanks for visiting my blog! The human likes to draw and sometimes she leaves the software open and I draw in it :3

    I hate how humans judge everything, the main problem in Costa Rica are Rottweilers, because some human came to a house to steal and they killed the human everyone went like “OMG they are bad if I get close to them they will kill me, and also they look so ugly and scary!”, the dog was just protecting the house, and he was “trained” to do so. Don’t judge a book by it cover, a human may look nice but then they steal and kill and abuse animals 😦

    • Opie and Opie's Mom

      I agree. You can’t judge a book by its cover at all. Some humans may look nice but they aren’t at all. And doggies really most of the time try and please their Mamas and Daddies. It’s kind of how we’re wired. My Daddy’s family had cats and the cat’s used to bring the family “presents” of dead stuff. Daddy said it was the family cat’s way of showing their love and doing something nice for her family. I wish a cat would bring me a dead squirrel. That cat would be my best friend forever. HINT HINT! Thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

  • Dr V

    So nice to meet you Opie! I love the video. I always feed badly when I’m walking with the kids and I see someone walking their pit bull- you can see them tense up almost like they are waiting for me to give them a dirty look just for walking their dog. I think they get it a lot. Then my kids ask if they may pet him/her and all is well. 🙂

  • CindyLu

    Hey, Opie! You and me both on that lappy thingy…and we love to sing the pit bull blues around here! Awesome post!

  • The Joke Puppy

    Nice to meet you Opie,,,found you on the Blog Hop. True words of wisdom. Potential problems can always be eliminated by raising a dog with plenty of love, affection, spending time with your best pal. Nothing annoys me more that seeing pets that are always outside, and alone. When you decide to have a pet, it has to be as your friend,,,,not your security, or watchdog.

Leave a Reply

