Pet Blogger Challenge

Pet Blogger Challenge

Okay, I know it’s the end of the day, but here goes!

1. When did you begin your blog?

Oh we started it back in July of 2010 — few short weeks after we adopted Opie.

2. What was your original purpose for starting a blog?

I figured my FB friends were getting tired of every little thing I had to say about Opie. I was just bursting with info about him and his hijinx. I felt he had a voice to be heard, and I was getting educated really quickly on the plight of adopted dogs. Essentially, both of us needed to vent.

3. Is your current purpose the same?

I’d say that it’s evolving. It’s as much about him as ever, but we both are exercising our creative sides a lot more than before. It’s fun!

If not, what’s different?

It feels less information driven and more creatively driven.  I do feel I’ve met my goals. I am pleased with how many more people are reading the blog than before.  I’d love more readers. I know I get what I put in. Time keeps me from posting as often as I’d like to other folks blogs. There are wonderful ones out there. The ones on the right side of the page of this blog are jsut a drop in the ocean. 

4. Do you blog on a schedule or as the spirit moves you?

I try and blog at least three times a week. Frequently, I have more than that to say, but we want to keep things fresh and interesting for readers.
I don’t have trouble keeping on schedule. I usually should be doing something else, ( like right now! ) So the problem isn’t blogging. It’s  all the other stuff I have to do. LOL

5. Are you generating income from your blog?
Nope.

If so, how (e.g. sponsor ads, affiliate relationships, spokesperson opportunities)? Wish someone would tell me how to make money doing this. I love it!

If not currently, do you hope to in the future — and how?
Don’t really know. Maybe someone will give me an idea? HINT! HINT!  However, I sitll love for people to enjoy the blog. I worry that if it gets commercial that will turn people off.

6. What do you like most about blogging in general and your blog in particular (bragging is good!)?
I love my dog. I love that other people love their dogs and I really love the postings from dog owners all over the country. I don’t feel like such a nut over my little Opie dawgy. It just makes me feel really good and it gives me a voice. I love the self expression.

7. What do you like least?
Sometimes technically it’s a bear. I feel limited by my limited HTML knowledge, but I don’t have time to learn all the code that would make this a super blog! I’m totally envious of Life with Dogs. That is a wonderful blog! My idol!

8. How do you see your blog changing/growing in 2011?
Well, maybe a slicker look. Better writing, more improvements from WordPress hopefully, and just more readers to help me keep on top of things.

Well, I hope I answsered the questions sufficiently. If you all have questions or comments feel free to chime in!

Smell you later,

Opie’s Mom

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

14 responses to “Pet Blogger Challenge

Leave a Reply

