A Trip to the Groomers – The Normal Routine!

I should know when I am going to the groomers. There’s a set routine that I should remember, but I get fooled EVERY TIME!

Mama is extra special nice to me on grooming day. She’s nice all the time, but I get some serious treats when it’s time for a shampoo, trim and nail filing (SHUDDER!)

The morning started off well, I suppose. I went outside and did my business. Mama fixed my breakfast a little earlier than usual. Daddy usually does it around 9:30 AFTER he’s eaten and read the paper and checked his email. This time Mama had my bowl right after I came in at 7:30 AM. She gave me my usual ½ cup of kibble, but then she went back the refrigerator and got some beef broth. She put a little in a glass container and stuck it in the microwave for a few seconds – just until it was warm, and I could smell the beef aroma. My mouth started to water. You all know what beef smells like when the delicious vapors are wafting through the air?

HEAVENLY!

She poured a little of that over my kibble. Mmm — I knew that breakfast was going to be good. But she didn’t stop there. She went back to the refrigerator — I call it the FOOD TREASURE BOX – and brought out some HAM! She cut a little slice and cut it into tiny little pieces. Then she mixed it all in with my kibble. The ratio was precisely


Kibble – ham bit – kibble- ham bit – kibble- ham bit.

Well, I gobbled it right down! There was a party in my mouth!

Then, the next cool thing happened. I got my morning walk, and we walked TWICE as long as usual… well not really, mama had to sit on a neighbor’s wall a few times, but we were outside in the neighborhood a really long time. Oh and great news! The mean lady who lives on the corner is moving! When she leaves we won’t cross the street anymore to avoid her house. Mama can’t stand her because she yelled at my hu- brother Michael for letting me poop on her grass. Gee whiz lady we had bags! On our morning walk, we went a little ways up the hill, and I got to mark some new territory. We ran into a really nice Lhasa, but her Daddy didn’t want her to stop and play. When we got home, Mama stopped at the van instead of going into our house. My Snorkie senses should have been tingling but they were dulled by walkies and ham nummies! I hopped into the van like a naïve puppy! She let the window down a crack for me. As we drove off I got to smell all those wonderful smells. My last chance to come to my senses and my senses were OVERWHELMED!

Even though I was unfairly distracted by ham, long walks and “scentgasms”, I still should have known something was up. The dog groomers are right near a burger place. The smells of beef, bacon, cheese, chili cheese fries and fried chicken completely mask the smell of shampoo. As soon as we turned the corner, I knew I was in trouble!

We parked and I decided that I’d better just get it over with fast. So, I jumped out of the car really quickly. Unfortunately, I accidently tied mama up in the leash. I tied myself up pretty good too!

Mama rubbed my head untangled me, and we went in.

To be fair my groomers are pretty nice. They are always nice to me. They give me treats and rub my chin. The other dogs there seem happy. Faoud uses really good warm water to give me my bath, and he calls me darling and honey and baby all the time. He really loves dogs. I can tell. He gave me my first bath after I was rescued from “death row.” He does a lot of rescued dogs.


Most my dog friends in the neighborhood go to Faoud. I was tired from my walk and my belly was full from my very excellent breakfast. I slept a lot in my grooming crate until I got my “hair done.”

Here is my BEFORE picture


Now here is my AFTER Picture


Mama says I smell better, and I’ve had a pedicure. My belly was shaved and my back end is trimmed as well for hygiene reasons. Also, those matts that mama couldn’t get out are gone. Faoud just cuts them out. I’ll admit it’s better not to have so much of my hair in my eyes. My hair is really soft. It’s soft all the time, but it’s super soft now.

But let’s get down to brass tacks – Aren’t I beautiful?

Mama says that beauty is hard work. Well, I’ve done my “beauty chore” for the month!

Michael and mama came to get me from the salon. Faoud called her on her cell as soon as I was done.

I was so happy to get home!

And it was wonderful to have Michael rescue get me from the groomers. I jumped all over him and licked him and tried to eat him up in the car! Mama let the window down a little for me on the way back. Ahhh! The wind was blowing just right… cheese burgers, fried chicken, French fries and bacon were in the wind.

Oh it’s great to be with my family again.

I guess I don’t mind being clean.

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

7 responses to “A Trip to the Groomers – The Normal Routine!

  • Hawk aka BrownDog

    Hi Opie!

    My Humans go to the groomer, but my Momma does me herself…course I don’t need a haircut.

    The Humans seem to look forward to going.

    With all that love and attention, I think I’d enjoy it.

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  • According to Gus

    Yes, you look BEAUTIFUL, Opie! Sounds like you had quite the adventurous morning. I bet you slept all afternoon. 🙂

  • Peggy @Peggy's Peg Place

    You look adorable, clean or not so clean! I bet your bath felt good.

  • Carrie Boyko

    Opie,you look really nice after a grooming. Hope you were a good boy for the groomer so you’ll get a treat next time.

    Will you please tell your mom that she won a dog lover’s prize over at All Things Dog Blog. She needs to visit the post on Friday, February 11 and check her prize, and then send me an email with her address. I’ll get it out next week if I get her address over the weekend. Thank her for me! Happy tails!

  • OscarBlogger

    You look great, Opie! Nice to hear that you get spoiled before you get taken to the groomer’s. We should do that with Oscar – he’d have no idea what was coming! He gets pretty distracted by treats, which is good because he’s not a fan of going to the groomer’s!

  • Sherry

    Wow, your coat sure looks soft and shiny, Opie!

  • sagechronicles

    Opie, you are one handsome Snorkie, no matter what! You Mom sure did a sneaky in getting you all full and tired before having one of those grooming sessions. I’ll have to watch for something like that, except I usually can plan on it after we’ve done a hike where’s there’s mud….

Leave a Reply

