Snorkie Report – The Lange Foundation – Angels walking among us

 

…And a Valentine’s Day Call to Action

A few days ago I did a favor for one of my son’s friends and brought him back to school for his rehearsal after a basketball game. It was the best experience of the week after a rotten two hours of L.A. traffic and being confused about where the team was playing that day. Inadvertently, the team coach left my son’s friend at the other team’s school. We drove him back to our school for his school musical rehearsal. During the trip we talked about our dogs. His family has three — All older dogs and with some problems. He told me about Loki, who has one eye and adores his Mom. I know what that’s like. Loki was from the Lange Foundation. I’d heard of them. I remember looking through their dogs on petfinder.com when we were looking for our furrever friend. I also might have seen them on an old episode of the Oprah Winfrey show. In any case, Opie and I promised that we’d spend some time talking about pet rescue issues at least once a week. I’ve fallen a little behind with that promise, but hopefully, this Snorkie Report on the Lange Foundation and a Valentine’s Day Call to Action will make up for it.

The Lange Foundation is a wonderful organization. It is a no kill shelter for dogs and cats that need to be re-homed. Lange volunteers rescue dogs and cats that are just about to be euthanized. I’d like to shine the spotlight on them with my blog buddies. They are doing a wonderful and amazing job here in Los Angeles and it would be great for them to continue doing this wonderful job. I’d like to also encourage people to donate to The Lange Foundation.

Here are some of the wonderful animals that can be adopted. This is Lady. She is a 10 year old Mini Pin.  This little gal is going blind so she knows that she has to pay attention to everything around her.  In no time, she has figured out her surroundings and is practically the queen of this castle! Because of her disability, Lady is very attached to people and loves so much.


This is Tigger!

Tigger 10 year old poodle that was returned to Lange Foundation after 10 years; he needs to be on special food and maybe some medication, but he is a doll, and he deserves a second chance. Maybe through Lange he’ll get that chance.


Puppies and kittens are easy to adopt, but what about an older dog or a dog with injuries, or an FIV cat? Lange foundation is trying to help these hard to place animals. They need your help. They are also involved in saving horses as well. They’ve built an amazing facility in California’s Canyon country that houses some retired dogs, cats AND horses. It is a sanctuary for rescued dogs, cats and horses that are so neglected and abused that they are beyond rehabilitation. At the sanctuary at St Bonnie’s they have a permanent home with loving staff and volunteers.

The Lange Foundation was founded in 1993 by Gillian Lange, recipient of the City of Los Angeles St. Francis of Assisi Award in recognition of her work on behalf of abandoned and neglected animals since 1974.  To date, she has helped rescue and place over 20,000 cats and dogs that would have otherwise been destroyed in shelters.” http://www.langefoundation.com/index/Home.html

My poor words are not nearly as effective as the video you are about to see about the Lange foundation and the link to their website.

I urge you to click on the link and donate something directly to the shelter.

I also have a Valentine’s Day suggestion.

Valentine’s Day Call to Action!

If your honey loves chocolate or negligees or a fancy meal from you, consider supplementing your V-day celebration with a true gift of love.

Give a donation to Lange or the rescue of your choice in their name as part of their gift. My hubby and boys are going to get something special in their chocolate boxes this year — A receipt for a donation in their names to Lange Foundation.
Without organizations like this many of us would be without our furrever friends. It hurts my heart to think that someone might have thrown Opie away. It makes me cry to think about all the others. We could stick our heads in the sand and not think about it, but consider that a small donation, even $10 could be the tipping point for a rescue’s budget. It might be one more doggy that gets saved or one more FIV kitty that get’s a home, or one more horse that is saved from the glue factory ( oh yeah, that still exists!)

So for Opie’s sake and all the little doggies, kitties and horses who need our help –

Let’s make a difference

On

February 14!

I know among my readers I am preaching to the converted. We’d probably all empty the tissue box watching Lange Foundations videos, but we all have tweet buttons and Facebook pages and friends who we chat on the phone or online with. Pass the word along and let’s see if we can make miracles happen for some wonderful rescues – Lange and/or those in your area.


About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

5 responses to “Snorkie Report – The Lange Foundation – Angels walking among us

  • According to Gus

    Seeing the photos of pets in need just breaks my heart. Your Valentine’s Day Call to Action is a fabulous idea. Just think if we all donated the money we’d normally spend on cards, candy, flowers and gifts.

    We’re in! We will do something extra special for the Animal Defense League on Monday.

    Happy Friday, Opie and Family!

  • sagechronicles

    What a great idea! There are way to many anipals out there that need our help.

  • Chandra

    Thanks so much for introducing me to the Lange Foundation! I’ve often seen people comment that they’re aren’t senior dog rescues in LA but I see that finding elderly dogs forever homes is part of their mission and I will certainly pass that along.

    Bravo to Gillian Lange. Her comments in the video will stay with me, especially, “Each animals has its own stories, its own memories and its own shock when it’s left behind.”

    -Chandra at Daley’s Dog Years

  • Carol's Critter Corner

    This is a great article about the Lange Foundation. I hope they get a lot of help and volunteers. Thanks for coming by my blog!

Leave a Reply

