Snorkie Surfing Discovery — Presidential Pets!

 

It seems only fitting that on Presidents Day weekend we should look at some Presidential Pets!

Opie and I were surfing the internet and ran across a great slide show. Of course AP won’t allow their stuff to be shared on a blog. So, we’ll just have to do this the old fashioned way.


Here is the link!

You could almost forgive some of these presidents for stuff they did or didn’t do when you see how much they love their dogs, cats and

 —- well..let’s just say the White house has been home to more than dogs and cats!

But then again, notice the names of their pets. I think it’s kind of telling.

If I were President, my Chief of Staff might suggest that Opie have a name change to fit his position as First Dog!

King

Duke

Emperor

Dictator

These names seem to fit his Snorkie Personality.


He looks like he’s above it all in this photo!

“Go ahead take my photo, peasant. I shall not deign to look at you. You are beneath my gaze!

Let them eat kibble!”

 

However, that might not be in keeping with our Democratic ideals.

Don’t want all the people to revolt over my dog’s name, right?

So, how about these?

Freedom

Equality

Liberty

Justice

I wouldn’t mind changing his name to Happiness (First name –Pursuit of)

Yes, Happiness! We could call him Hap or Happy!

 

Why not name your favorite slide in a comment to this posting. (Try not to be partisan about this! No matter how villainous you think that particular commander in chief.) Which photo do you like best?

 

I’ll start you off.

I love the picture of Jackie and John-John and other Kennedy kids with a pack of dogs!

And those dogs appear to be nameless!

Enjoy!

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

4 responses to “Snorkie Surfing Discovery — Presidential Pets!

  • Fiona (and Abby the Hippobottomus)

    “Let them eat kibble!” Heehee! We’re actually pretty partial to Nixon’s menagerie; Mom had an Irish Setter as a kid, and we are (of course) poodle fans. Mom was rather amused by Caroline Kennedy’s pony grazing on the White House lawn (can you imagine the fits that groundskeeper had? Heehee.)!

    I think the First Dog should have some cool name like ‘Nero’ or ‘Brutus’ or ‘Vercingetorix’ (don’t ask…. Mom’s a big fan of Roman history – she’s crazy…)

    *kissey face*
    -Fiona and Abby the Hippobottomus

  • Cheryl and Kirby

    Well first off, mom and I think your presidential name should be Emperor, not only does it remind us of who would be in charge but it fits with your regal look!

    Mom and I also didn’t know there had been a first racoon! Very cool.

    Woof!
    Kirby

  • According to Gus

    Ooohhh…it’s tough to choose. I was going to choose JFK and Fam with their pups…but the slide of Johnson and his beagles was sooo cute. They were spilling out of his lap!

    Opie looks like a Happy to me 🙂

    Hope you’re all having a great weekend!

  • sagechronicles

    You are clearly a Royal, no matter what the name!

    We liked Laddie–what a sweet, devoted dog. And we loved the statue made of pennies. Cool!!

Leave a Reply

