A Snorkie’s View of The Top Grossing Dog Movies of All time

Hi all,

Opie here!

This is Oscar weekend! So I thought I’d get in on Movie Mania, but I don’t care about some British guy with a speech impediment or some boxer, unless of course it’s a canine boxer. I like dog movies. So, mama found a list of the top grossing movies of all time. It turns out that Mama and Daddy and I have seen a lot of these movies. For those of you who haven’t seen them here’s a quick summary of what these movies are about and my take on them. Feel free to agree or disagree.

These movies made a lot of money. Wouldn’t it be nice if the producers gave just ½ a percent of their gross profits to doggy rescues. Even an eighth of a percent would be fabulous! It seems to me that doggy movies should do some good for the doggies that they portray. Pretty much every movie here illustrates our best qualities, our good relationships with our humans no matter how stupid those humans are and our ability to make the story turn out right!

Imagine how much dog food, how many rescue shelters, and vet bills ½ percent from just one of these movies would help.

Maybe some Hollywood producer will read my blog and get an idea.

HINT! HINT!

I vow right now that if somebody does that my whole family will see the movie, and I’ll bet a lot of you guys will too! Anyway, here’s the list! Enjoy!


Top grossing dog movies of all time

  1. Marley & Me (2008) – $142,992,475 – Great story about a dog that really rules the roost. I love this wonderful “dawgins”! I wish I could do all the stuff he does! Unlike Cesar Milan, I have no problem with this doggy or his family! What’s wrong with the dog being the pack leader? What a precocious pup!
  2. 101 Dalmatians (1996) – $136,189,294 – heartrending tale of lost puppies and a really evil human aptly named Cruella Deville. I hung on the edge of my dog bed during it.
  3. Cats & Dogs (2001) – $93,385,515 — This is like Die Hard for Dogs. I love this movie!
  4. Beverly Hills Chihuahua (2008) – $92,072,613 – A horror film – dogs forced to wear numerous outfits, taken care of by a slovenly dog sitter and then LOST in a foreign country. Puppies should not be allowed to watch. It will give them nightmares. It gave ME nightmares! Beverly Hills is 5 minutes from my house…Chills!
  5. Eight Below (2006) – $81,612,565 — I watch this one over and over again. I love this film. However, I am awfully glad I don’t have to pull anything where I live. Personally, I know I would not have had any trouble catching a bird to eat. I do jump quite well. Dog Adventure at it’s very best!
  6. Snow Dogs (2002) -$81,172,560 – Well, I do have standards. Nobody looks good in this.
  7. Turner & Hooch (1989) – $71,079,915 – Once again, I do have standards – Hanks may be an Oscar winner, but I don’t get why he’s so annoyed with the dog in this one. He’s just being a dog, and the dog in my mind is a much better actor.
  8. 102 Dalmatians (2000) – $66,957,026 – I love these madcap dogs, but sequels are never a good idea.
  9. The Shaggy Dog (2006) – $61,123,569 – A true horror film. What happened to the dog’s personality? Completely taken over by the man. The horror! Like a doggy Exorcist
  10. Beethoven (1992) – $57,114,049 – This poor dog Beethoven turns out to be a hero for the family and the family in turn becomes a hero for him. It was a great dog action adventure.
  11. Beethoven’s 2nd (1993) – $53,443,066 – Okay I liked the first one, but I don’t do sequels.
  12. K-9 (1989) – $43,247,647—Well this one was kind of boring. It was not the GSD’s fault! Bad plot.
  13. Underdog (2007) – $42,937,703 – I love this film! The human element was weak but the dog rocked! Isn’t it every dog’s dream to fly!
  14. Homeward Bound: The Incredible Journey (1993) – $41,833,324 — Mama says the book was better and the original movie was better too.
  15. Benji (1974) – $39,552,000 – yes I love this dog. He looks like me and he saves the day.
  16. Good Boy! (2003) – $37,667,746 — a good dog fantasy! Yeah see how happy you guys would be if we all left the planet. MISERABLE! So take better care of us!
  17. White Fang (1991) – $34,793,160 – a true wolf dog’s film. Five woofs!
  18. My Dog Skip (2000) – $34,134,641 – what’s not to love about this film. It has it all. Daddy says he teared up pretty good in this film. I whimpered a bit as well. Love this film.
  19. See Spot Run (2001) – $33,357,476 – typical dog thriller!
  20. Homeward Bound II: Lost in San Francisco (1996) – $32,772,492 – once again I don’t do sequels.
  21. Because of Winn-Dixie (2005) – $32,647,042 – LOVE IT!
  22. Air Bud (1997) – $23,144,499 – Okay this was just silly. I have no desire to play basketball and I don’t know any dog who does. The dang ball is too big!
  23. Benji the Hunted (1987) – $22,257,624 – not too happy with sequels
  24. Cujo
    (1983) – $21,156,152 — Why didn’t these rotten people have Cujo vaccinated against Rabies. This movie enraged me. People who don’t vaccinate get what they deserve. Cujo is an avenger and a victim. Dog Tragedy!
  25. Iron Will
    (1994) – $21,006,361 – the dogs are the true stars of this. Should be Iron Dogs.
  26. Best in Show (2000) – $18,715,392 – Really cool! It made me want to be a show dog. Unfortunately, not possible since I’ve been fixed.

List retrieved from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_animal_films#Top_grossing_dog_movies_of_all_time

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

6 responses to “A Snorkie’s View of The Top Grossing Dog Movies of All time

  • Fiona (and Abby the Hippobottomus)

    Mom really likes ‘Best in Show’ – she watches it every year before Westminster. You know, so she’s in the proper frame of mind for the big dog show. Believe it or not, we actually don’t like dog movies that much because as soon as someone on the teevee barks, we chime in and Mom and Dad have to ‘shush’ us. Ah well. I like ‘Lawrence of Arabia’ despite only cameo appearances from desert dogs…. 😉

    *kissey face*
    -Fiona and Abby the Hippobottomus

  • Opie and Opie's Mom

    We like it too. We particularly like it because a terrier wins even though his humans are nutty! Haven’t seen Lawrence of Arabia in a while. It might be time to see that again. So many great movies that we forget about. Have you noticed how many dogs are showing up in commercials for everything including lipstick. It’s not really the year of the rabbit. I think it’s the year of the dog!

  • houndstooth4

    I totally love your list! Best In Show is a movie we watch here a lot! I laugh every time we see it.

    Have you ever seen the old Big Red movie? It’s another fun one based off a book that is also fantastic!

    Bunny

  • Ettel E

    Haha, what a great list!

    Old Yeller and Where the Red Fern Grows get me every time.

  • sagechronicles

    We howled over Best in Show and I sure perk up whenever there’s a dog barking on that TV thing. Mom won’t watch Marley and Me though. She likes to read some dog books though and especially likes Chet the Dog. Predictable, but entertaining!!

  • Debby & Kirby

    Thanks for stopping by! Great list! Seen a few, plan to see the rest! Really like “Eight Below”! New one I love is “Hachi: a Dog’s Tale” and can’t wait for “A Dog’s Purpose” to get made!
    -Debby

    If they ever make a new Benji movie, I’m auditioning! Woof!
    – Kirby

    http://www.kirbythedorkie.com

Leave a Reply

