Our First Sleep Over – Opie’s Mom Report

I’m a Mama on the Edge!

Hi All,

Opie’s Mom here!

I have to say I have mixed feelings about the subject of this posting – Opie’s first sleep over. Maybe I’m looking for moral support. (No maybe about it!) So here goes!

Opie’s Dad and I are going to a wedding. We’ll be gone all day and won’t return until late. The boys will have a sitter with them the whole time, but Opie is a little “funny” with the sitter. Sometimes he loves her to pieces, and sometimes inexplicably he becomes highly suspicious of her. I would trust his judgment but our Delfina has been taking care of Gregory since he was in diapers and Michael since he came home from the hospital. The boys love her, and she loves them! She loves Opie too. It could be that Opie smells Delfina’s little dog and is wondering when her little ball of fluff is going to encroach on his territory. Maybe this is what puts him on edge.

We don’t know.

Opie’s Dad suggested that this weekend was the perfect time to get Opie used to being without us over night. We will go away for Spring Break and for some weekends in the summer. His reasoning is that Opie should build up to being left at Doggie Central for a week or more. This, of course, makes sense. He might think he’s been abandoned if we leave him just “cold turkey” for a week. I certainly don’t want him to think that. We want him to expect our return. BECAUSE WE WILL!

This attack of nerves feels suspiciously like the attack I had when I sent my 12 year old on his school trip alone across the country for the first time. Just like that trip, I’m worrying how Opie’s going to deal with sleeping without Mom and Dad. I worry whether he’ll be comfortable or scared, whether he’ll eat well, whether he’ll get along with the other dogs, whether the people will be nice to him. I know the people are nice. I’ve met them, but what if the day crew is nice and the night crew is a bunch of dog hating sadists? Opie’s Dad thinks I’m paranoid. Maybe I am. But there’s a reason I refer to myself as Opie’s Mom.

This is what we Moms do. We worry. We are paranoid – and LORD HELP THE PERSON THAT HARMS MY KID or SWEET LITTLE DAWGINS! Sorry — just had paranoia surge.

Of course, it’s only one night, right? He’ll be okay for one night.

The question is — Will I?

Expect a blog about Opie’s return from his sleep over by the end of the weekend. I know I’ll have to write about it. In the meantime, feel free to offer any moral support you feel you can.

Well, so long all,

Opie’s Nervous Paranoid Mom

P.S.

Please enjoy some pictures of my sweet little fur ball!



About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

2 responses to “Our First Sleep Over – Opie’s Mom Report

  • Snoopy@snoopysdogblog.com

    Hey there Opie’s Mom,

    Trust me you’re not alone! I’m just 11 months old and my Mum hates leaving me, but I know she’s gonna come back cos I’m so cute.

    Anyway, I’ve stayed at Cosmo’s house (next door) a couple of times now and I have so much fun with him. Of course I miss my Mum, but it’s a break for me too. Even when they tried the kennels I had lots of fun with the other dogs. I’m an ‘only dog’ and even though I have lots of play dates, I love getting the chance to hang out with other dogs….

    Plus, I often get a new toy when they come back, so it’s a win win for me.

    I’m sure Opie’s gonna have a blast and hope you have a great time too!

    Snoopy 🙂

  • sagechronicles

    Toby knows how you feel, Opie. He’s 11 1/2 and hasn’t done a sleep-over maybe 8 years! But, you know what? They come back! Yep, they do! So…go and have fun!

Leave a Reply

