Saturday Blog Hop — What if we had a FETCH A THON?

Hi All,

Opie here! You all must know that it’s sometimes hard being the only doggy in the house. The family goes off to some event and leaves you at home for hours. It is a little annoying to be left out of the fun, especially when it involves

BALLS! LOTS AND LOTS OF BALLS!

My hu-brothers were at their school’s Hoop-a-thon! They raise money for their school by shooting lots of baskets. People pay by the basket! Last year they bought new uniforms for the teams and stuff like that.

 I wish I could have gone. I think I could make a basket. I can fly through the air and DUNK! Like a DUNKIN’ MACHINE!

I can nose dribble, and in a game I’m good at tripping up the other guy.

My hu-brothers agree that I have SPEED! AGILITY! HEART!

THIS SNORKIE CAN JUMP!

Maybe because I am such an AWESOME BUT
UNDER APPRECIATED PLAYER

My hu- brother let me wear his Hoop-A-Thon Medal.

I think I look quite snazzy. Mama just needs to sew up the ribbon so that it will fit me properly. (I love the fact that I can probably chew the medal a little bit if it dangles down a bit, but don’t tell Michael that!)

Maybe we should have our own DOGGY–THON! I know some of you don’t have my MAD BASKETBALL SKILLS, so maybe we could make it something that every four legged FIDO can participate in. How about a Doggy FETCH-A-THON! We don’t have to limit it to Balls. It could be anything you like to fetch – balls, Frisbees, sock monkeys, stuffed squirrels. We could have it in a big green sunny dog park! Ahhhh! Sounds like heaven doesn’t it?

I’m going to talk to Mama about this. There are so many good causes to raise money for!

BEST OF ALL – we could have neat medals for our participation! And think of the treats!!!

What do you say doggers?

Gotta run! Michael wants to shoot some HOOPS with me! I have to be gentle and not beat him TOO badly. He  is my LITTLE hu-brother!

Grins and Licks Fellow Doggers!

Your Pal,

Opie!
>

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

8 responses to “Saturday Blog Hop — What if we had a FETCH A THON?

  • sagechronicles

    OMD. If it has anything to do with BALLS, I’m in! I’ve never done hoops, but I have some pretty fine air moves, if I don’t say so myself. Good job, Opie! Ever the thinker for F U N!!

  • Lindy MacDuff

    Opie, you look grand wearing that medal! And your Fetch-A-Thon sounds like a real winner. I bet it would be popular enough for an annual event.

    Thanks for stopping around my PBH post today and leaving such a nice message. Hope you have a great weekend!

  • Hawk aka BrownDog

    Hi Y’all,

    Thanks for hoppin’ by for a visit. Just took a minute to catch up! What great ideas y’all have!

    Y’all come back now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  • Snoopy@snoopysdogblog.com

    Hey Opie,

    That’s a great idea!! I’m in, cos I’ve just learnt to fetch the tennis ball, yeah, I know it’s a bit late – I’m 11 months old now, but I just didn’t realise how much fun it would be before……

    Btw, you look really cool in your medal, I’d love a medal…..:)

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  • Susan Bisard

    Hi Opie, I love your Blog! I tried to sign your guest book, but something didn’t take, maybe I’ll come back later and see if I magically show up. 🙂 Good luck at the ball game in the dog park. Our dog park has lots and lots of balls. One about every 10 feet or so. Some of them smell great, but some of them are so sandy I won’t pick them up..yuck

  • Opie and Opie's Mom

    You made it. You’re in the guest book Susan. I just had to approve it. I reset the book so that it’s automatic now. 🙂 Thanks for signing my book. It’s so much fun to see where everyone is from. 🙂

  • Cheryl and Kirby

    I love your idea of a fetch a thon! Why don’t we throw squirrels into the mix and maybe some bunnies! If you want to do balls I’m for that too, mom says I can jump pretty high from a standing position! Great idea dude!

    Woof!
    Kirby

  • According to Gus

    Great idea, Opie! There are so many wonderful causes out there and so many of us dog bloggers. Putting the two together makes perfect sense to me!

Leave a Reply

