Snorkie Report: Hey Gus… I Can Go to a Restaurant Too!

Hi All,

This article is dedicated to my blog buddy Gus of According to Gus. His mom writes a really great blog about him. You should go visit it right after you read my posting!

Gus usually gets to go to all kinds of places with his Mom and Dad. They take him on trips and he gets to go to restaurants and cafes.

I haven’t been so lucky. I’m a little growly and barky sometimes and so Mom and Dad thought I might make a big fuss at the restaurant. Geez, all because I barked at that lady with the cane and that kid in the stroller while we were on our walk and … well, you get the picture.

Anyway, I’ve been just exhausted since they got me out of Doggie Central (5 Nights away from Home!) I couldn’t stand being away from them after they got back and the feeling was mutual. Mama had no good human food in the house for breakfast so we ALL went out for breakfast!

We went to a little neighborhood place that had outdoor seating. It’s called the Rutts Hawaiian Café. Here is a picture of it from the web. We sat at the corner table right under the sign. Imagine me under that table! They specialize in Hawaiian/Polynesian/Japanese cuisine. They have these amazing dishes called “Royals” A royal is a big mound of rice with eggs and bean sprouts and meat and other yummy stuff all mixed into it. Mama had a Chashu Royal.

I sat under the table on Mamas foot. It was fun! (Mom apologizes for not have a photo, but she was still frazzled from her trip and the camera battery was dead anyway. She promises a picture next time we go out. Hopefully, that will be soon!)

I liked being with Mama and Daddy, and they brought a lot of treats for me to eat under the table. I don’t think the waitress even knew I was there. Although, sometimes I got up on two legs and put my paws on Mama’s leg. She gave me a piece of Chashu for my trouble — Japanese barbecued pork (also spelled char siu, chasu, cha siu, chashao, and char siew). Michael slipped me some bacon too. Oh it was heavenly! Enjoy these pictures of the actual dishes that some other customer took and uploaded to the internet! The food looks good and I can attest to the fact that it tastes good too!


Mama told me she was so proud of me. I didn’t bark at any of the people waiting for a table or even back at the dog that was around the side yard of the restaurant. That dog was complaining quite loudly about something! I was a perfect gentledog. It had probably nothing to do with the fact that my mouth was full of bacon, chashu and duck sticks most of the time.

My only complaint is that next time Mama should bring a pad or something for me to sit on under the table. That concrete was COLD! Mama put her feet under my butt. She said it was to keep me warm but her toes were like ice! YOUCH!

I can’t wait until we go out again. We may try the restaurant where my FB friend Fergus goes to lunch. He’s a big Rhodesian Ridgeback. Mama figures that if the café will let him hang out there, they’ll take a 20 pound Snorkie. (But between you and me, Fergus does NOT have my terrier personality!)

I can’t wait to go out again. Next time, I want to try the hamburger joint on the corner, and don’t forget the steak house down the street! I have no interest in that vegetarian place – no thank you very much!

See you later blog buddies! And for all you doggies going out to lunch right now


Bon Appétit

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

3 responses to “Snorkie Report: Hey Gus… I Can Go to a Restaurant Too!

  • According to Gus

    Hey Opie, thanks for the shout-out! It was so fun to read about your dining out experience. Bravo to you for behaving so well for your parents. I have a feeling since you were such a good boy, there will be more dining adventures in your future!

    And the food?! Wowzas! I just ate lunch but now I’m hungry all over again!

  • Snoopy@snoopysdogblog.com

    Hey Opie,

    It sounds like you have a great line up of restaurants to visit, you’re gonna be busy!!

    I’m just wondering if your Mum was actually trying to warm her feet underneath you? Tee hee

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  • Opie and Opie's Mom

    I wouldn’t mind going back to the Rutts Cafe. Gus, I think you inspired Mom to try. Plus while they were in S.F. there seemed to be lots of dogs having lunch at outdoor cafes.

    Snoopy, I think you were right. She sticks her feet under my butt on the couch too. What am I? A foot warmer?

    I guess I am. Oh well. One of my many jobs. 🙂

    Your pal Opie

Leave a Reply

