Yeah, that Opie is one lucky hound- dog!

Hi All,

Opie’s Mom here. Currently, it is 5:30 in the morning. I’ve been up since 3:30 AM trying to get a certain little white Snorkie to go to sleep.

He caught a whiff of some creature outside and was making all kinds of racket. We tried calming him in the bed. Nope!

I took him into the other part of the house brought a blanket to sleep on the couch. Opie’s Dad has a 6 AM meeting and was trying desperately to get some sleep. As soon as I pulled my blanket up, Opie found every squeaky toy in the living room and proceeded to play with it.

This poem popped into my head as he started throwing his heavy elk bone across the hard wood floor.

Monday’s child is fair of face,
Tuesday’s child is full of grace,
Wednesday’s child is full of woe,
Thursday’s child has far to go,
Friday’s child is loving and giving,
Saturday’s child must work for a living,
But the child that’s born on the Sabbath day,
Is fair and wise and good and gay.

 

Yep, that Opie is full of grace, because that’s what has certainly been protecting him this morning. Some of you may be asking why I don’t just throw his furry butt into the back yard to face the creature he so wants to confront?

Well, here’s a list of the possible creatures that could be out there to confront the 20 pound Snorkie.

Raccoon,

Feral Cat

Opossum

Skunk

Rat

Or

Burglar

With the exception of the rat, all are bigger than Opie. They have teeth claws and nasty fleas, ticks and or West Nile. Yes, we have that here. Indeed, just a couple of weeks ago our local paper reported that few of the dead crows laying in the gutter had West Nile virus. So, confront one of these teeth and claw or disease bearing beasties… no. The burglar. Well, it’s too early in the morning for me to kill a burglar who kicks my dog ( Yes, I would do that!) Too much paper work! And heck!  I went to Church on Sunday! Definitely a commandment no-no. So, he’ll just have to traverse my yard unmolested. I trust the CCPD ( very big and very mean) to kick that larcenous booty. I’ve got friends in blue.

But what if he has just has to pee or poo? Well, I’ll clean it up in the morning or later this morning, or he can hold it. He had his last personal business run at 11 PM and that should be enough! Until 6:45AM!

So, bleary eyed, bad tempered and personally wrecked for the day. This dog is being protected for his own Danged Good!

Tuesday’s child is full of Grace.

Say good morning Gracie!

Have a good day fellow bloggers!

I’ll probably have to have a nap in the afternoon or the rest of Opie’s family will be wearing my tooth and claw marks.

Did I mention that my totem is the bear?

Take care,

Grumpy Opie’s Mom

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

6 responses to “Yeah, that Opie is one lucky hound- dog!

  • According to Gus

    Uh oh – 3:30 am is awfully early! You are a very patient and loving dogger mama to get up and move to the couch. Opie is one lucky little guy.

    I hope your day zips by quick so you can get back home to relax. I bet Opie snoozes all day. 😉

  • Erin

    West Nile? No way! Good thing Opie has you there to protect him or is it the other way around – does Opie see himself protecting you from that evil West Nile virus? 😉

  • Snoopy@snoopysdogblog.com

    Oh Opie,

    Your Mum sure is patient with you – if I try that I just get a “Snoopy, time for bed” – and I know they’re not gonna entertain me….I’ve also noticed that my noisy toys seem to disappear at night too?! Very odd!!

    If I get really bored I do this special loud bark disguised as a yawn – I mean, how can they tell me off for yawning!! Tee hee

    Me thinks you need to give your Mum some extra cuddles today buddy! 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  • Opie and Opie's Mom

    One good thing about getting up that early. I got TWO blogs written. This one and the one for Wednesday. I did get a nap, feel much better but we’re going out this PM to wear out a certain little snorkie who decided to take a 2 hour nap with me. We’re hitting the dog park! Where I KNOW he’ll get all that energy out.

Leave a Reply

