Snorkie Musing: Are you my Yorkie Mama? Part II

 

Sunday is Mothers Day! I want to wish all the Human Mamas a Happy Mother’s Day!

As I said in the Part I blog, all this Mothers day stuff has gotten me wondering about my roots. I’ve explored the possibility of a Schnauzer Mama, now it’s time to look at the Yorkie Mama idea.

So let’s compare my Snorkieness with Yorkiness!


This little guy has a cute black nose. My nose is a bit bigger.

His ears are very perky too. I have floppy ears.


However, we both have wonderful silky and

LUMINOUS white hair.


Look at how my hair just gleams!


This Golden Yorkshire terrier has some gleaming hair too.

Very shiny and what a nice bow! And a nice little beard to go with it!

I’d chew up any bow Mama put on me!

And I seem to have a naturally

wavy hair.


Once upon a time, Mama tried to dress me up with a Bandana, but…


I chewed it off. By the way, see how wavy my hair is.

Are Yorkies ever this wavy?


That doesn’t seem to be a strong wave. But we do have similar expressions.

Their snouts look a tiny bit like mine. And look! Here’s a Yorkie with floppy ears.


Looks like Yorkies have ears that go up and down.

Looks like they have silky hair and slightly wavy hair too!


We do have similar expressions, but maybe that’s just being a

TERRIER!

The one thing that boggles my mind is … well … size.

Miniature Schnauzers can weigh between 12- 20 pounds.

I weigh 20 pounds. I am NOT overweight! (I only have treats every once in a while)

Yorkshire Terriers can weigh up to 7 pounds.

That’s a mighty big gap.


I’m just a young dog, not a dog breeder, so I don’t know if it makes sense for such a tiny doggy mama to carry big schnauzer puppies. Maybe all the puppies are tiny enough at the beginning.

Here are some tiny little Yorkie puppies and their Yorkie Mama.



This little yorkie guy is one hour old.

(Mama says that Gregory’s hamster was bigger when it was 2 years old)

But Schnauzer puppies don’t seem much bigger.


Well I suppose anything is possible. These guys don’t look that much bigger, right?

I love playing with both Yorkies and mini schnauzers in the park!

I guess it doesn’t really matter who my doggy mama was! I hope she’s happy healthy and loved wherever she is.

She doesn’t have to worry about me. I’m in a good place. My human family loves me just as much as she must have loved me when I was born. I’ll be with them forever and ever.  I love them a whole, whole, whole lot!

So……

Happy Mother’s Day Yorkie Mama!

I ❤ U

And now another cute picture of me to enjoy!

 


Happy Mother’s Day Mama!

I love you too!

Love,

Your Opie

 

 

 


 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

15 responses to “Snorkie Musing: Are you my Yorkie Mama? Part II

  • sagechronicles

    No matter who your Mama is, you sure turned out the cutest one of all, Opie! And I don’t blame you for chewing off those things they put on us. I’d do the same thing!!

    • Opie and Opie's Mom

      Mama wishes she’d take a video of me trying to get the bandana off. I did a few strange contortions. Once I got my teeth into it, that was it. She hasn’t tried that again. BOL. 🙂 Thank you for saying I am cute. I do appreciate it. You’re pretty good looking yourself Sage. 🙂

  • Judy

    Yorkies can have a slight wave but their hair “should be” straight. They can be over 7 pounds also, Tiffy is 8 1/2 pounds with a slight curl to her hair. I still believe Yorkie Dad and Schnauzer Mom because of size. Either way you’re a cutie pie:)

    • Opie and Opie's Mom

      I had fun looking at all the varieties of Yorkies. It got very confusing. And they all have such different looks and personalities. I think my Dad must have been a very bold fellow, if he were a Yorkie. My schnauzer Mom must of been very, very mellow. 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog!

  • Edie

    I particularly enjoyed this because I’m always wondering about Frankie’s heritage and Yorkies are up there in the possible mix. But boy, is Opie SILKY! Frankie is embarrassingly dull haired by comparison!

  • Snoopy@snoopysdogblog.com

    Ah Opie,

    That was so sweet, I’m sure your Doggy Mum loved it (I’m sure she follows your blog!) 🙂

    I like that you’re a mystery Dog, it’s fun and you know what, you’re unique!! Maybe they’ll make an Opie breed in your honour?!

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Opie and Opie's Mom

      I really like that idea a special Opie breed. I can see me now at that big dog show getting a ribbon. .. uh oh.. I’m fixed. Oh No! I’m ineligible and … I can’t make any more little Opie’s AHHHHHHH! .
      Oh well it’s a nice fantasy! 🙂 Thanks Snoopy

  • Oskar

    I think you have the face & body of us schnazuers with the silky coat of the Yorkie.

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

  • Oscar & Pauline

    Happy Mother’s Day, Opie! Whether your momma is Miniature Schnauzer or a Yorkie, she’s one special pup to give birth to a cutie like you. 🙂

  • Happy.Bark.Days

    Opie, it looks like you inherited the best of both worlds! You’re one special little guy—like your friend Snoopy says, “you’re unique.” Here’s wishing your two-legged mom and your four-legged mom (wherever she may be now) a very Happy Mother’s Day!

  • Bailey (Sheltie Times)

    You have wonderful characteristics that one breed just can’t hold. Perhaps it took a few generations to get the combination right.

  • Cynthia

    Opie is adorable! What a cute post. Snorkiness versus Yorkiness (did I spell that right?).

    I am my Bichon’s momma …

  • yorkie puppies

    Awww… they such a cute creature since they are born… I really loves your pics! How’s the baby’s doin’ right now?

Leave a Reply

