What’s the big deal? It’s my bully stick – why can’t I bury it in the couch?

Hi All,

Opie here!

Mama’s annoyed because she found my bully stick in the couch. I don’t know why she should be annoyed. After all, it’s my bully stick and she found my super secret hiding place.

Daddy bought me a Bully Stick for Mothers Day? Evidently, this was to make up for the fact that the only thing left over from the MD Lunch was spaghetti and meat sauce and for some unknown reason I’m not allowed to have a taste of that. It smells heavenly, by the way!

Any-who, I got a brand new bully stick.

IT IS SO EXCELLENT!

I chewed on it a while, but then I decided to hide it.

First, I walked all around the house looking for a good place to stash it. My brothers went running ahead of me and closed a bunch of doors. I have no idea why. Their room is full of nooks and crannies and a perfect place to hide stuff. I wonder if Michael is still made about that Lego model of his I chewed up. Hmmmm.

I tried to hide it in the laundry basket with the clean clothes. Gregory pulled it right out and gave it back to me. Then the basket ended up on a top of the washing machine.

I tried to hide it in Mama’s new shoes. Obviously, that didn’t work.

I tried to hide in a corner of the living room, but I couldn’t seem to dig up the hard wood floor.

Finally, the perfect spot — Right between Mama and Daddy on the couch! I “dug” into the couch bottom and nosed my prize into the back of the couch. Then I pushed the pillow back over the top of it.

Mama came right back to the couch after bringing Daddy a bag of popcorn and sat right on it. I

I suppose I should have expected that.

Now I have to find a new place to hide it.

I don’t know why Mama is pointing to my crate. My crate?

MY CRATE!!

Gotta go!

Later Fur Friends!

Your Pal,

Opie

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

9 responses to “What’s the big deal? It’s my bully stick – why can’t I bury it in the couch?

  • Snoopy@snoopysdogblog.com

    Your crate Opie?

    Why does Mum think you’d want to hide it in your crate? Way too obvious a place!!

    I’ve never heard of a Bully stick? I get my sticks from the garden, I usually just keep them in the garden, I’ve got lots of places to stash them out there and so far Mum hasn’t even come out to hunt for my sticks…..:)

    Have a fun day Buddy,

    Snoopy 🙂

    • Opie and Opie's Mom

      I know what you mean Snoopy. I went there just to please her, but my bully stick is somewhere else.

      What is a bully stick? Well it’s this piece of beef sinew that  is really hard and chewy and EDIBLE.  Daddy buys them for me at the pet food store. It’s not rawhide because Daddy says that raw hide is too brittle and can break and then do bad things to my insides. The bully sticks are chewy. My friend Sage can chew one up in a day, but I’m a 20 pound snorkie and it takes me about 2 weeks to get it down to cigar size.  When it gets about 2 inches, Mama thinks I’ll choke on it so she takes it away. 😦  But Daddy always gives me a big new one.  I love them!

      Mama likes them cause I do, but to human noses it smells kind of bad. Daddy used to buy a kind my brothers called a “pee” stick, now he buys one that he calls a “poo” stick.  They don’t really mind as long as I don’t hide it under their pillows in the bed. 🙂

      I hope you can get one Snoopy — they are the bomb!

      Your Pal, Opie

  • Bailey (Sheltie Times)

    Mom and Dad like the crate idea, too. We have similar problems.

  • Happy.Bark.Days

    Hi Opie. It’s hard, ain’t it, to find just that right hiding spot for all your treasures. Good luck in your next attempt! 😀

  • Judy

    Great stick:) Perhaps you should try hiding it under the bed or couch next time, that’s where Tiffy hides all of her stuff:)

  • According to Gus

    Uh oh! She found your super secret hiding spot?!

    I’m with Judy – under the bed is a fantastic hiding spot. We find all kinds of random objects that Gus has hidden under there. 😉

  • Mary Hone

    Wow, the bully stick looks great. I would love one of those. Except I know for sure Torrey would want it too. We’re always battling after the same chew toys, even though we have tons.

  • 24 Paws of Love

    The couch sounds like an excellent spot!! To bad they found it. But I think your momma might be on to something. If it’s in your crate than no one can get it!!

  • Fern Reed

    Opie it is a dog’s life you are living!!

Leave a Reply

