Happy Summer Fellow Doggers – YAHOO!

 

Hi All,

Opie here!

Yes, yes, I know! I’ve been grumpy lately about my lumpy thingy as my friend Sage calls it!

Can you blame me? I have an ITCH I am NOT ALLOWED TO SCRATCH!

The one bright spot of all this is that

MY HU-BROTHERS ARE OUT OF SCHOOL – IT’S SUMMER VACATION!


YAHOO!

So what does that mean for me?


It means!

  • REGULAR LONG WALKS!
  • REGULAR LONG BELLY RUBS!
  • REGULAR TREATS since they are trying to teach me new commands. ( Settle, Stay and Roll Over)
  • REGULAR PLAYING IN THE BACKYARD!

And of Course……

BACKYARD BBQing!


HUZZAH FOR MEAT!

Even though I’ve been thoroughly annoyed with this pro collar thing, I have to say I’ve had some great quality time in the backyard with MAMA while she learns to use her new grill!

I’m her chief taster, even though she doesn’t always notice.

She drips all sorts of stuff on the pavement, and I can’t let the ants have it, right?

So get ready to be envious fellow doggers. Here’s what my summer kibble has been supplemented with

  • Smoked Beef Tri-Tip
  • Smoked Baby Back ribs
  • Grilled NY steaks

Oh and the latest deliciousness ….

  • Grilled Hamburgers.

Now I’ll admit I can’t say I’ve had a HUMAN portion of these delicacies. I’ve had a bite here and there, a tidbit only. My main meal consists mostly of Natural Balance Duck and Potato.

But Last night!

WOWEE KAZOWEE!

Last night, I had ½ a patty all to myself — Grilled to perfection by Mama JUST FOR ME!

I tell you Fellow Doggers – Puppy Dog Eyes are the best weapon in our arsenal of cuteness.

Don’t be afraid to use it shamelessly.


It doesn’t hurt to lick your Mama’s ankle while she’s putting the patties on the grill. Just a little doggy kiss that says – hello, cute doggie down here who loves you unconditionally, who’s trapped in a collar of shame, who smells your delicious food and never complains (in English) to you about anything … You Hoo!

And as EMERIL says,

BAM!

Onto the grill goes a little meat patty just for me!

I tell you fellow doggers,

Summer is my favorite time of year.

 

Good food!


Good fun!


Great Company!


 

Happy Summer

 

Fellow Doggers!

About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

10 responses to “Happy Summer Fellow Doggers – YAHOO!

  • Christina Lee

    Happy Summer! You need to tell your mommy to get you a doggie pool to cool off in!

    • Opie

      That’s a good Idea. I’d like to try that. I wonder if that means I could get my donut off? I can totally see doing that! Thanks for the suggestion.!

  • Judy

    Sounds delicious… Try to get yourself a whole hamburger next time with some cheese perhaps…that’s Tiffy’s favorite:)

    • Opie

      I’d love a whole cheeseburger. I doubt I’ll get that though. Mama is always examining my “productions” I only get treats when I have a good “product”, if you know what I mean. Mama doesn’t want me to get sick. Usually, I get a human sized bite of these BBQ delicacies — just a small chunk. Mama breaks it up until it can spread all over my kibble. YUMMY. The patty was a special treat. She made it differently from everyone else’s ( no garlic, or worcesthire or other stuff — it smelled AMAZING) made me my only little slider. It was so great. It made me feel great too. I played fetch with my newly discovered orange ball. It was a great day!

  • sagechronicles

    You got your very own patty, Opie? You are one special pup. When can I come over? My Mom isn’t nearly as nice.

    PS: If you get an itch under that THING, make the hu-mans scratch it. That’s what they’re there for, right?

    • Opie

      Oh since my bath, I’ve gotten lots of good scratches and belly rubs. They really feel sorry for me so I’m getting lots of love and attention. My hu brother Michael wants to carry me around like a baby. I have to hide under the coffee table sometimes.

  • Bailey (Sheltie Times)

    Mom and Dad don’t share with us. Something about Bailey getting sick.

    Enjoy having your humans home.

  • Opie

    I know what you mean. I only get a little bite of the food usually. Mama made a special patty just for me without any seasoning on it. It still tasted great to me. Meat is meat right ?

  • Snoopy@snoopysdogblog.com

    No, No, No!! That’s not fair!! I don’t get all that BBQ stuff that you’re feasting on AND gloating about!!

    That’s it!! I want a collar now!! 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy (who’s not eating burgers right now! – Boring old kibble for me! Doh! ) 🙂

  • According to Gus

    You are one lucky dogger, Opie!

    Gus got to have a couple bites of a hot dog tonight. He loved it!

Leave a Reply

