Somebody stole my fur coat! A Snorkie’s cry for Help!

Hi All,

Opie here.

You remember me?


Well, this is what I looked like after I got my Pro Collar off!

See this happy furry dog!


This is what I look like all the time!

Happy! Furry! A gleaming white coat with a little curl in it!

I won’t say I’m “Coat Proud” but… GOL DANG IT! That’s exactly what I am!

Here is the Story of my Travail.

Due to the whole histiocytoma episode, I had not been to my monthly grooming in about 2 months.

My nails had gotten almost as long as my hair and I was bumping into things.

(Snoopy, I don’t now how you see anything!) I was bumping my head on the coffee table — a puppy move!

I was misjudging the distance for jumping on the bed and landing on my furry butt!

My hu-brothers vetoed the idea of a barrette to keep the hair out of my eyes, and I accidently scratched Mama jumping into her lap.

Mama decided it was time to go back to the groomer.

That morning she brushed me and brushed me and brushed me.

Unfortunately, I am prone to mats, especially on my legs. I’m also prone to running off when Mama brings out the brush.

She brushed me this time solid for about 30 minutes, feeding me duck treats to keep me from running off. (By the way, that really did work!)



It was an ordeal, but nothing compared to what was to come!

Off we went to the groomers.

I could wax poetic about the scents that went up my nose as we drove there.

I could wax poetic about the duck treats in the car, but I’ll cut to the chase!

Here is the result!


What the &^%$ happened to my fur coat?


Mama is in the dog house!

My hu-brothers are really mad at her. They miss my fluffy consequence!

In her defense, she didn’t tell the groomer to do this to me.

He called her at home and said that he couldn’t get the matted snarls out of my fur.

He said that he had to trim me more than usual to make it even.

I heard Mama say over the phone – “What mats. He didn’t have any mats when I brought him to you?”

I have a feeling I won’t be visiting the groomer anytime soon!

Mama mentioned something about just filing my nails down herself from now on!

I do miss my hair!

I’ll admit though that I’m a lot more aerodynamic now. It’s also a bit cooler. I seem to be a bit more energetic too!

Squirrels look out!

I’ve turned into a “MUSCLE DOG!”


Oh and my coat STILL gleams!

Do I forgive Mama? Of course I do!

SHE DID NOT CUT OFF MY HAIR!

THE GROOMER DID!

And of course, there’s the other thing…

It will grow!

Mama’s determined that my hair MUST grow quickly.

I’ve told her that duck sticks make it grow faster.

Well, fellow doggers there’s an upside to everything!

Smell you later,

Opie,

MUSCLE DOG!


About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

8 responses to “Somebody stole my fur coat! A Snorkie’s cry for Help!

  • Fiona (and Abby the Hippobottomus)

    Well, for what it’s worth, we think you look Most Handsome. We tend to get a bit hot in the summer when we get furry, so Mom has the groomer cut us almost nekkid – we look a little funny, but it feels So Goooood! (Being cool, not being at the groomer – that pretty much always sucks…) But anyhoo, we think you’re handsome! (And I did have a winter where I got really wooly and really matted, and I was nekkid mid-winter… I had to wear a coat…. The shame of it…. At least you can tell people you’re being cool for summer!)

    *kissey face*
    -Fiona and Abby the Hippobottomus

  • Bocci

    Oh my, Opie, you did loose your fur! But you still look adorable and glad you’re more cool and energetic-all lightened up for the dog days of summer!

  • sagechronicles

    I don’t care what they say, Opie. You are still the most handsome Snorkie I’ve EVER seen! I’d keep working the duck strip angle though. Especially if your Mom decides to file your nails. EEAAWWWWW.

  • Christina Lee

    I think Opie looks MaRvEloUs!

    xoxoxxo

    Lexi and Christina

  • Hawk aka BrownDog

    Hi Y’all!

    Good thing you aren’t my Human’s dog! She’d keep you cut like that all the time and shave your cute face! She loves the way you look! I think you look pretty neat too!

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

    P.S. Before you ask, my face is naturally smooth and my coat short and wavy. I shed too, so she has to brush me regularly, which I like.

  • Bailey

    Sorry about the groomers. Thankfully it will grow back and you will have that beautiful coat of yours to show off again.

  • holly

    Awww what a cute post! Been there many times! LOVE your blog. Happy that I’ve found you.
    Take care,
    Holly & Phoebe

  • Bailey

    Well aren’t you a cutie… whether you have long fur or short. 😉

    Woofs & hugs,

    ~Bailey (Yep, I’m a girl!)

Leave a Reply

