Day 2 — Letters from a Doggie inmate

Hi all,

It’s me prisoner, I mean, guest #007 at Doggie Central.

I passed a quiet night here at Doggie Central. Interestingly enough, I seem to have graduated from the super small dog size of the place to the medium sized dog side of the place.


I don’t really mind. I just hope Mama can find me when she goes on the webcam.

If she finds me, she might find me showing everyone who is boss.

She might even catch me getting my Bone tattoo on my belly. I’m getting a nice meaty looking one. I had to trade the Dachshund 2 greenies for it, but I think it will be a rockin’ cool tat! It makes me look tough. Not that I’m not tough! I am very, very tough!


This is the really good side of the place. We have a direct route outside. As you can see, some of my subjects are cavorting outside. I like being able to go in and out at will. Obviously, only the very best dogs can be trusted like this.


Unfortunately, the pug has been placed in solitary confinement. They found his tunnel. Poor mutt! It’s too bad. But if you do the crime, you have do the time! I can hear him whining about his innocence.

Dude, they caught you with your paws in the drywall! Enough already!

I have a new cell mate! You can see him in the picture – the beagle taking a nap on the yellow platform. He’s very cool. He howls all night! That’s why he’s sleeping now. I don’t mind too much. He doesn’t sound like Johnny Cash. He’s more of a Kurt Cobain type singer. He makes me feel a little home sick – my hu-brother Gregory is a Nirvana fan.

I asked one of the dogs about the place that Mom, Dad and the boys went to. He’s been. He says I’m not missing too much. It’s a national park and while dogs are allowed, he’s not keen on any place where he might have to wear a bear bell. I know what a bell is. But what’s a bear? I’ve asked all the dogs in here.None of us know.

I’ll have to ask Mama when she comes back.  Maybe it’s a new breed of squirrel.

If any of you guys can explain what a bear is, please let me know. I really like to be up on my squirrel knowledge.

Anyway, I’ve got to run fellow doggers. It’s chow time, and they always over feed me. Tee Hee!

Sniffs and Licks,

Opie

Inmate #007


About Opie and Opie's Mom

Snorkie with attitude. My mom writes about me and sometimes she lets me write something too. I was rescued July 11, 2010! I am so happy! I love my family and I hate squirrels. I don't know any cats but the neighborhood cats are fun to bark at. Read Opie's Mom's Blog to find out more about me. View all posts by Opie and Opie's Mom

4 responses to “Day 2 — Letters from a Doggie inmate

  • Bailey

    Opie Mom says you wouldn’t like a bear. They met one in a Canadian National park. Think of the biggest dog you’ve ever seen and multiply it several times. Doggy’s have to wear bells to try to scare the bears away. They tend to think of us as appetizers.

    Your place doesn’t look to bad. Most of the time we have a daycare provider that has home daycare. She lives on a farm and it is wonderful. The kennel we use is more like a prison. Katy and I can’t even share the same cell. Can you believe it??

  • sagechronicles

    I’ve never seen a bear either–I wonder if they are like horses? They’re big too. I know what you mean about prisons. The last one they put me in I got so depressed that all I did was sleep for 3 of the 5 days I was incarcerated. Then I destroyed everything I could get my teeth on when they put me in a nasty crate at night. I’ve never done that before.

    Mom, Dad & I have been visiting a whole bunch of other places because I’m going to have to go back to jail somewhere while Mom is gone for a whole month. I’m just glad Dad will be home for part of it……

  • Opie and Opie's Mom

    I’m not sure I’d like a bear. I know I wouldn’t like to wear a bear. My tags make enough noise.

    Maybe you can come down here Sage and stay at Doggie Central. You’re a big girl so we probably wouldn’t be in the same side of the place, but maybe if you squeeeze your sefl down. I’ll bet Mama might put me in for us to have a play date.

    I really like the cage free thing. I”m usually so tired when I get home all I do is sleep and cuddle.

  • Bocci

    Uh, bear? Anyway, it looks like you’re having lots of fun there, Opie! My Parental Unit would just die if she saw me surrounded by all of those dogs!

Leave a Reply

